We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Our suite was spacious, the food was excellent, and it's right in the middle of town. Great water pressure! Friendly, helpful staff. The hallways were made for small people though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for the review , as you see definitely the real olde Inn here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    254
    53
    10
    12
See reviews for
180
644
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Md
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

At the end of the alley into the walled city, BBI is not the only pub in town, but you won't go wrong eating here. The fact that they have Leffe on tap was a benefit, but the fish and chips tasted fresh and chips are better than average for the style. A ham and cheese toastie was enormous and well stuffed. All enjoyed it and went back just for a beer the next day.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sleggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Walked into friendly pub welcome after a wander round Caernarfon and a quick Trip Advisor check. Just what it says on the box with a great pint for the hubby and divine fig and goats cheese starter for me .... Then carried on through stunning steal to good puds.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebCoombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
You are correct , we are what we say a Inn with meals .Not a fancy restaurant just plain, real food with fair pricing.Thank you so much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in a suite behind the hotel in May for a golf break. Good clean accommodation with lots of room and facilities. The food was good, well cooked and large portions. Limited parking but excellent staff and well worth trying. We will be staying again in 2015

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for review .Car parking has now improved as we have purchased permits for the main castle car park . We ask early arrivals to park in this area unless disabled or infirm ,so that late arrivals can park at the side of Inn.Castle car park closes for entry at 6.30pm in summer , exit anytime though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Staying locally with work we were recommended to try the black boy for food but was warned that it is always busy, needless to say we weren't disappointed! Upon arrival threy were full but we decided to aait and was found a table within 10 minutes. From viewing other peolels meals during the wait we know we were never going to be leaving hungry as the portions were very generous. 2 of us had the Yorkshire pudding with sausages and I've never seen it so big but the quality was there as well and three generosity. The staff were very friendly and approachable especially HELEN who never stopped smiling the whole time and was a joy the whole time we were there. Would recommend this for food or even just a drink as it's ideal for all and situated in a lovely part of the town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PRobbo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Helen is a student here for the summer and yes she smiles every day all day . So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My work brings me up to North Wales on occasions and over the years I have stayed at the Black Boy numerous times.

Each time I return it seems to get better and better. From the friendliness of the welcome and service, the quality nature of the rooms, the fantastic food (evening meal and breakfast) and not forgetting quality beer in a wonderful setting.

If only one could train those seagulls to be good!

Excellent place and warrants its reputation. Now how can I wangle more meetings so I can stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialentrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
So glad you enjoy your stay at the Inn . I am so glad we are all giving the service we should be .Thank you for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Located just inside the old city walls. Five mins walk to shops, castle, river.
Nice old building with character in public areas, though rooms are modern.
Rooms in rear annex (ours was room 61) are large, clean and quiet.
Restaurant is very good, evening food was excellent - the lamb shank was the best I have ever had, breakfast was good. Table bookings are recommended for weekend evenings. There are also tables out the front in a semi pedestrianized area.
Bar has a selection of local beers plus national.
Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
As it is within the old walls space is at a premium, therefore most parking is near the castle (5 mins walk) though there is room for loading and unloading of bags at the hotel plus room for a few cars in the rear courtyard for those that have difficulty walking.
I also recommend a visit to the castle, allow a couple of hours as there is a military museum, two rooms of historical information boards, gift shop, a history cinema and fantastic views from the walls.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear annex and the rear of the hotel are away from the front outside eating area and delive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind review , so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn. The staff work really hard here for the customer and the Inn .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing