We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel within old city walls”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Hotel within old city walls”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Located just inside the old city walls. Five mins walk to shops, castle, river.
Nice old building with character in public areas, though rooms are modern.
Rooms in rear annex (ours was room 61) are large, clean and quiet.
Restaurant is very good, evening food was excellent - the lamb shank was the best I have ever had, breakfast was good. Table bookings are recommended for weekend evenings. There are also tables out the front in a semi pedestrianized area.
Bar has a selection of local beers plus national.
Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble.
As it is within the old walls space is at a premium, therefore most parking is near the castle (5 mins walk) though there is room for loading and unloading of bags at the hotel plus room for a few cars in the rear courtyard for those that have difficulty walking.
I also recommend a visit to the castle, allow a couple of hours as there is a military museum, two rooms of historical information boards, gift shop, a history cinema and fantastic views from the walls.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear annex and the rear of the hotel are away from the front outside eating area and delive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind review , so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn. The staff work really hard here for the customer and the Inn .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    280
    57
    10
    12
See reviews for
195
694
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stunning location inside the castle walls.
Parking turned out to be in the public car park down by the river - only a short step unless you're carrying suitcases.
We received a warm and friendly welcome but were a little taken aback to be asked to pay upfront, including breakfast, with a promise for the total to be adjusted down if necessary.
The room was pleasant in a cottage to the rear of the pub. Our window overlooked a street but there was not a lot of traffic.
We chose to eat out - we did look at the menu while having a drink but the place was so busy we looked around town for somewhere else. In hindsight, judging by the breakfasts, maybe we should have stayed after all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the review , I am so glad yo enjoyed your stay at the Inn . With reference to the car parking we usually ask guests to leave luggage at the Inn if early arrivals and their allocated parking is at the castle car park. With regard to payment you should have been offered either to pre authorize card for amount of bill plus bar drinks etc. If you did not wish to do this , full payment would have been requested . We must apologize for this new procedure it is due to some unscrupulous past customers who left without paying on a couple of occasions , a sad fact of public life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stopped for lunch on 4h turnaround from the WHR.

Excellent food and very generous portions. When I enquired if they had any Welsh ales on tap, the order went through for "pint of pump 3" and I was not disappointed with the pint that arrived!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We have a wide selection of real ales circulating on our pumps . Thank you for review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

It has to be said that even with curt staff our first stay was very impressive in every way. So, we returned. Over several visits though each has had problems, and the staff border on rude on occassion .... this afternoon we find ourselves initially being refused access to an empty car park - told to use the local authority car parking down the road and carry our bags - our car is in the Inn car park but why the argument ?? However, because of this we find ourselves in a room we struggle to stand up in. Who is the guest ... customer service lacking ... so we ate out. Stay once and enjoy, we have found returning more disappointing each visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgantalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Sorry that you feel staff are curtly , this is very unusual as you see from the majority of reviews and our trade increase. As regards the car parking this is a problem for all accommodation providers in the town including premier and travelodge who use public council car parks . We have purchased permits for the car park by the castle to ensure that all our customers have a parking space. We do this rather than leave everyone to fend for themselves . It would be easy to fill our small car park next to the Inn first , but later guests would find there are no parking spaces left anywhere. Due to this reasoning we therefore use our permits in main castle car park first and then fill our car park next to Inn .
I apologize that you feel this is unfair but we have to look at the majority of our guests comfort and ease . Also all disabled parking is next to the Inn for the older and infirm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff at the Black Boy Inn, especially John, made what could have been a disaster into the best part of our trip. We met friends in the BBI's pub having chosen it by a total stab in the dark us coming from Ireland and them coming from Oxford (though we all live in California). My inital impression of the BBI was the quintessential British pub, cozy and lively, with great beer and food. We came to find out the cottage we were all to stay in during our Wales adventure was literally falling apart so at 9 PM we were welcomed by the staff and given refuge. I was expecting to find the typical smallish accommodation with a bathroom if we were lucky. It turns out the rooms (we stayed in two different ones as we were last minute) are newly refurbished with large comfortable beds, kitchens larger than the one in the apartment we rented in London, and a full bath with a deep bathtub also new. And the price was less than half of what we paid at other stops on our trip. Our stay at the Black Boy Inn was perfect and we have travelled a lot. Every question answered, every need met. We did have an adventure one night when the smoke detector went off at 4 AM but it gave us a chance to meet our neighbors. Thanks to John and all the wonderful staff at the BBI.

Room Tip: The rooms (we stayed in two different ones as we were last minute) are newly refurbished with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much we really enjoyed your company at the Inn , i remember you well. So sorry about the other guest who set off the alarm at that early time of the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed with my elderly mother in May and were given the 'accessible' rooms in the courtyard wing. Very suitable, easy to use with small kitchens and easy facilities.
Great bar with good beer for me, good restaurant for us both.

Some really good fish. Mother had a Dover Sole and said it was one of the best she has had. Great location for exploring the town and visiting the harbour and the railway.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much and thank you for commenting on your stay . I will pass your comments on to all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We ate at this hotel at lunchtime on a Saturday. The staff were really helpful and polite, the ambience in the restaurant was lovely. The best part was the food, I can not praise it enough, yum,yum,yum. We were so full we could not manage a desert, but we would definitely return and would recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna53354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I would like to thank you and all the staff at the Inn. We really do have wonderful staff ,who put their heart into the job .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing