We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Booked a 2 night short break to cheer my wife up before a knee op and what a fantastic place lovely food,service, setting and wonderful helpful staff, absolutely faultless a perfect break.

Thank You Black Boy

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNANDKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you very much for this review , hope you come back again to stay . An pass my best wishes to your wife to get well .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

A one night stop, stayed In the Black Jack part of the hotel and recommend this as probably quieter. Room was freshly decorated and clean, large tv and nice toiletries. The staff are a great asset, friendly and cheerful at all times. Food was fab, large portions and quickly served. It's in a very central location and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: We had room 40 in Black Jack and recommend this. It's a little suite with its own kitchen area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madogfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Your review is appreciated , thank you hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Being a local I know the Black Boy Inn very well, an excellent venue to meet friends and socialise in a pleasant atmosphere. This week I had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant, plenty of selection on the menu, quality food and friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for this kind review .Please come back soon. Diolch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great hotel but be prepared. Staff are great. Food is good and the surroundings are full of character without being fancy. Room 4 has a comfortable 4 poster bed but we were glad to have stayed there in winter on a Monday night as it is over the bar at the front of the hotel. We didn't need the ear plugs that were provided! We did have to turn off the bathroom fan however as the box on the wall vibrated. It's a pity there isn't a timer on the fans so they don't come on at night, as the sound travels. There was the bonus of an ironing board and iron in the room but no cupboard to hide it in. In fact there was no wardrobe for clothes, just open shelves and rail - like a travel lodge.

We thought we would stay in the main hotel to avoid going outside for meals but found that breakfast was across the courtyard. Fortunately it had stopped raining for a little while! The car park is small and needed care to manoeuvre around. All in all we would recommend the hotel but get informed and come prepared. Value for money at £58.20 B&B for a double room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for feedback , fan controler has been replaced next day after your comment to us. We try hard to rectify the problems as they arise . Like all hotels there is a wear and tear on all fittings , but we pride ourselves in being quick to react .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We agree entirely with all the 5 star reviews given to the the Black Boy. The food was excellent. The portions were enormous and we decided to share a course between two after the first evening meal experience. Staff were happy to oblige with this. We have paid twice the price for food and accommodation in other places and it has not been as good. The Black Boy served our purpose very well. An excellent breakfast followed by long walks in the Welsh hills and back for an evening meal without having to go out again. Food... lamb shank and mash, haddock chips and mushy peas (crispy batter on the fish and world class crispy chips), mussels in cream sauce, creme brulle, profiteroles all perfect and plenty more on the menu to go at. The restaurant appeared to be very popular with locals with a number of large groups in on the three nights we stayed. The hotel was very warm and welcoming, log burners in the bars and restaurant efficient radiators in the rooms.... and the shower worked well and always plenty of hot water at all times of the day. One of the advantages of the Black Boy was that you could get a proper pint of Bass at the bar whereas in other hotels proper beer is rarely available. Ask for the whiskey menu! The Black Boy Hotel may have been there since 1522 ish but has been refurbished to a high standard and everything worked well. The usual minuscule hotel room TV's were instead 32"(?) flat screens which made it easy to lay in bed to watch Match of the Day... if that's what you want to do. And the WiFi worked and was very easy to set up after being given the code when booking in. We stayed on the three nights BB for the price of two offer which was excellent VFM and would have been happy to pay full price. The three night stay was an excellent experience and we will probably return as there are many many miles of walking opportunities in the immediate area to fill the days. A couple of things that could be considered. Herbal tea and decaffeinated coffee in the rooms and some way of trying to ensure parking is available for all guests....... but minor and not intended as criticism. Thank you to all at the Black Boy.

Room Tip: Room 6 was large and comfortable. A bit of noise from an extract fan on the roof outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianW3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for the detailed review on tripadvisor . So nice to see you enjoyed yourself at the Inn . Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Black Boy for a weekend recently and couldn't have stayed in a nicer little hotel. The staff were vey friendly the whole way through our stay... even when we were the last in the bar on the Friday night. We stayed in an executive double which was stunning, although we had to be a little careful not to bang our heads on the beams sometimes!! It's situated right in the heart of town and is so easy to get to by car and very close to Snowdonia. The restaurant was lovely and the food fantastic, as was breakfast, and of course once again the staff were superb. Very much recommend The Black Boy if you're thinking of visiting North Wales.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

I thank you so much for your review, what more can i say as i think you have caught all in your reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked after reading all the positive reviews so our expectations were high. The location was perfect right in the heart of town, near to the castle. It was easy to find and had a benefit of a free car park. Check in was easy and very friendly. The room itself was very nice - clean with little extra touches. All going well we thought. When it came to dinner we ordered 2 mains from the menu with a plan for wine and deserts. We both ordered a fish dish. Fish was great but one of the dishes was served with frozen green beans and ready made mash potato (the sort you buy in a supermarket in a block) The white sauce was far too salty. The salad was plain and just not nice.
At the third attempt the wine(after opening two prior bottles with corkage problems) eventually
arrived after i'd finished my meal. Needless to say we didn't have the wine or stop for dessert. It's a real shame when an establishment has lots of other things going for it but then is let down by an inconsistent kitchen that lacks culinary creativity. My advice is stay here but dine elsewhere.

Room Tip: Double room good value - big beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I appreciate your feedback and i have to apologize that your experience in dining room was not up t o your expectations . I can promise though that the mash is definiatly made on premises as i see them working at it every morning to prepare. I would be very surprised if we have used frozen vegetables as we do not buy them . But i will check on this in case they run out of supply on the day.But regardless of this i again apologize as we try hard at the Inn to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
440 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing