We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for New Year, arrival was welcoming and the atmosphere was great, clean and comfortable spacious room, huge bed with lovely bedding. Excellent breakfast. We would look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for kind review , we wish you both a happy new year .Hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    280
    57
    10
    12
See reviews for
195
694
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked 3 nights at the Black Boy Inn and Margaret and I were really happy. We booked a suite which was very comfortable and spacious. Food was excellent but best of all were the staff who were really friendly and helpful. This is a really great place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose a suite and were very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
All our rooms are different each one has its own character . Thank you for the review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed a while back now, but just got on Trip Advisor and it was so great I wanted to leave a quick review.
The food way great, service fantastic and the room was absolutley incredible. I recommend a 4 poster room as it was stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the kind review , hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A post Christmas stay after working. The Black Boy was the perfect place to stay. Friendly and informative greeting at reception. Wonderful room have paid a lot more in the past at other hotels which did not reach this standard. Wonderful atmosphere in the bar then enjoyed a relaxed evening meal with one tiny problem which was dealt with very swiftly and the breakfast was the icing on the cake. Will definitely staying again even though only live a few miles away.

Room Tip: Stayed in an executive double which had plenty of room and very large comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Diolch , thank you for the review .So glad you enjoyed your stay at this original Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the black boy hotel for two nights as I was working in Caernarfon and I felt I must share my experience with you. This hotel/pub has been facelifted to a very high standard and the rooms have a boutique traditional feel to them. My bathroom was tiny, however it was practical and caused no problems for my stay. I was in room 3 which is situated above the reception and away from any bar noises.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4444405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the feedback , room 3 does indeed have compact shower room one of the smallest we have actually. Every room at the Inn is a different size and shape due to the nature of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for only one night but really enjoyed it. Had a 4 Poster Bed Suite which was very spacious, very clean and comfortable. 2 Things though, it was except for the bed quite modern, somehow I was hopping for some medival charm. There is also a little kitchen which for me did not add any value at all.
Parking right next to the hotel within the town wall, great. Breakfest... great. Would have loved to have dinner as well, but the place was so packed, eventually I gave up and went somewhere else which is no problem in walking distance. I guess that speaks for the Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for the review .We are indeed a very busy Inn and have the exact opposite of most hotels in that our dining areas are full most of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We needed to get away from all the pre-Christmas stresses and staying here was the perfect answer. The staff are so cheerful and friendly; our room, though up two steep flights of stairs, was a really nice 'mini-suite' spacious and beautifully decorated. Comfy beds. Very small quibble about the amount of light in the room but I guess that goes with its central location, which was most exciting - just inside the town walls, and close to all amenities. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent (though being Saturday night it was crowded and noisy, but that's what you expect in a popular place at the weekend.) If we had wanted to cook, it would have been excellent value, as there was a little kitchen with frige too. (I was surprised there was a hob and microwave but no oven but then we didn't want to cook anyway.) Breakfast was very good indeed (but why no black pudding when it had been on the menu the night before?) and we really enjoyed our stay. Would certainly go back if ever staying in Caernarfon again. Had a lovely time walking round the town walls and harbour and watching the sunset over the Menai Straits.

Room Tip: This pub is right in the centre and so you can't really expect it to be quiet - I would ask thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind review , hope you come back soon . The Inn is very old as you state and we have tried to maintain the ambiance of age during it`s redevelopment . As regards the black pudding , i can only assume the morning staff made an error as it is part of the breakfast . Sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing