We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Boy Inn
Nearby Hotels
Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
$121
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
$155
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel(Bangor)(Great Value!)
$118
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Llanberis)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,410)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveler rating
1,021
303
62
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
303
62
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack boyblack jacksthe pubsteak and ale pielow beamsfour poster bedcoach houseate herehuge portionsmusselswelsh breakfastreal alelarge bathroomboth nightsmain buildinggreat roomnorth wales
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,164 - 1,169 of 1,410 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Black Boy is a very popular and busy inn, dining establishment and evening bar scene - with locals and tourists alike - in a charming town dominated by a huge castle and walls. The staff are really lovely - we'd like to thank Michelle in particular who really looked out for us. Excellent breakfast (although served quite early from 7-9am), clean and well appointed rooms, easy walking within the town and seafront / marina and easy driving to many scenic places of interest, eg Portmeirion. On-site parking (free) available but spaces a little tight - if you're there on a weekend try for a larger space in the very back by the newer second building "Black Jacks". Plenty of outdoor tables for a pleasant evening drink. We ate at the BB both nights (one of the nicer places to eat in the town) and booking ahead is essential even for guests. Meals are hearty - large portions, cream sauces, mashed potatoes. We had the mussels and highly recommend them. Salad was also very good - fresh and crunchy. We stayed in Black Jacks - 3 stories, no lift. Modern bathroom - plenty of hot water and good pressure. Room over looked car park and was a bit noisy but didn't keep us up. Would happily return to the town and the BB.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThroughPassenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review , we do try very hard here to please .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great food, good beer, great staff, lovely rooms. I can't say enough good things about my stay at the Black Boy Inn. Will be going back again this year just to stay there, just got to find a reason for going to North Wales other than the Inn. There must be some more tourist stuff I can do in North Wales to justify a trip.

Highly recommend this venue. I have stayed I some stunning hotels around the world and this just did it for me more than many others.

Room Tip: Go for the haunted room......
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Your kind review is appreciated . The Black Boy is an unique building renovated over 3 years to keep the history for the future. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Atmospheric, clean, very comfortable. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast and the restaurant. Caernarfon is probably the best location in N.Wales because of the proximity to the Welsh Highland Railway station; other towns are also easily reachable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to place this review on tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our room (No2) was atmospheric and very comfortable. Enormous digital TV! WiFi appreciated. Spotless bathroom. No view but what would you expect within the city walls? Wonderful breakfasts in the newly refurbished Coach House across the courtyard. Busy but courteous and friendly staff. Short walk to WHR station, Castle, Refurbished Victoria Dock and supermarket etc. Token control of the parking area worked well for us. No traffic noise but Herring Gulls remind you that you are near the sea. The map on the Inn's website made the Inn very easy to find.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for review , i am so glad the map worked enabling you to find us as we are within the town walls . Also pleased you enjoyed your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yes, this is a very well run and professional operation and ticks just about every box. We only had a night here after completing the three-peak challenge but every aspect was positive. Full of charm and character, our room was well equipped, clean and had a massive bed. Food, both evening and breakfast was fine, the local ale was excellent, very friendly locals mainly speaking in Welsh which to a London boy added wonderfully to the overall atmosphere of the place. Add to all this the efficient and often humorous staff, its not surprising its popularity. One downside, the noisy gulls in the night but then if I'd shut my window I wouldn't have heard them!! Will definitely visit/stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for review, i am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews