We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beer, food, everything”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer, food, everything”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Dating back to 1522 this inn has character by the bagful. Walk in off the street on a very cold spring day to a roaring open fire, extremely attentive staff and enjoy some excellent real ale and food - well that was our experience. We enjoyed the sharing hot and cold plate of tapas/mezze which at £12.65 was good value, well presented and more than enough for 2 people. The barman gave me a taster of the different real ales so that I could make my choice which was a nice touch. Right in the heart of the old quarter of Caernarfon town, this is a must visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiderbankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for review , i will pass these comments to all staff to thank them .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    281
    57
    10
    12
See reviews for
196
697
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this historic hotel within the Walls of Caernarfon back in February. Our room was stunning - four poster bed, sparkling bathroom, cosy, warm, stylish and comfortable. More like a luxury personal bedroom than a generic hotel room - so comfortable it was unbelieveable!
Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and genuinely warm, they had kindly made us a reservation in their restaurant that night.
The food in the restaurant is to die for, local produce cooked to perfection - you will not leave hungry! So much wonderful choice on the menu you will take ages trying to decide which to try!
Good advice given on wine too for those who are unsure what to drink.
Great local beers for real ale enthusiasts!
The following morning we went to breakfast - the breakfast room large and spacious but warm - the hot food cooked to order, again local produce, award winning sausages and local caught fish is served. Again, you won't leave the breakfast table hungry!
The staff advised us on best way to get to Snowdon and suggested a route to take - invaluable local advice given freely and on our return to the hotel the staff were genuinly interested on how our climb went and if we had enjoyed our day.
An evening spent in their bar tasting local beers - the bar staff friendly and informative.
I cannot rave a bout this hotel enough - I work in the travel industry and I have to say this is one of the best hotel stays I have ever had - I look forward to visiting them again and thank you for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves - book a room with a four poster bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shedendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I agree we do have a very rare Inn in our care. I wish to thank you for the review and totally agree with you views of course . I will ensure the staff are aware of your comments. We print all reviews out for staff and if we can change anything for the better we do, so feedback is useful for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altrincham
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

just back from a two night stay and felt i had to share a great experience. lovely , romantic and clean room, professional and warm staff, especially the lovely tawa ( melody in a proper language). lol. will definitely be returming to sample the great food and beers. the small fly in the ointment is the bit of mispelling on the menu slates on the wall, but i think you can see if that is the only thing i have to complain about i really should get a life

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are a romantic Inn in both your and my view. I am so glad that the hours of training and leadership of Michele shows in the staff professionalism. I wish to thank you for the review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The room was nice and clean .We had a wonderful stay friendly staff...The food was absolutely delicious..One of the best..
warm atmosphere will definitely come back.. Great character cosy in the coldest weather


Munis and Andrew

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for review and that the Inn met your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We've just got home from a two night stay in Black Jacks and could not fault it.

I chose the hotel because of the excellent reviews - we were looking for a great pub with clean modern comfortable accomodation and got what we wanted only better. The room was lovely, bar cosy and welcoming and the food was excellent - possibly the best hotel breakfast we've ever had with great choice and friendly service. Our only disappointment was entirely our own fault as we didn't book a table for dinner. However that gives us an excuse to return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We hope you return soon and thank you for review. I am so glad the Inn and staff met your expectations .We all strive hard at the Black Boy to ensure this happens for all guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had another stay in the Black Boy and this time we stayed in a room in Black Jack's, the latest addition to the hotel. This is a building at the other side of the courtyard which was refurbished in 2012. Room 52 featured a sizeable bedroom, large bathroom and a further room with a kitchen and dining area. Not that we used the kitchen there was a dishwasher, microwave, and fridge.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We met family for a meal in the restaurant and the food excellent - the cod loin a gastronomical delight!! There was a good atmosphere in both the bars and the restauarant reflecting the popularity of the place. Breakfast was also excellent. Looking forward to the next time we have an opportunity to visit the Black Boy again.
Free WIFI as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anturiaethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for review Black Jacks is out latest edition to the quirky feel of the Inn .In all there are 26 rooms all en-suite bath/shower rooms. Our team of staff all work hard to make it work for the guests.
And of course our WIFI is free to our guests , we believe this should be standard in hotels as a service to paying guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to the black boy inn for a weekend and thought it was excellent. We came to climb Snowdon as well as have a good time so decided to pick this hotel as the location seemed good.

We arrived and Michelle and the team couldnt do enough for you.

The hotel is a very old building but it gives it a cosy, warm feel to it. The rooms are very nice and modern.

Best of all is the food! I had Lamb Shanks on the first night and thought it was so nice I had it again the next night but my friends had Pork Belly and someone else had the burger. Everyone who i went with loved the hotel and would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossWillaims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for review , i will pass comments on to Michele the manger . All the staff help to make this a cosy Inn as you state . Also Marius the head chef works hard to keep food quality to his standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing