We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are looking for a Hotel with Charm this is it, located just inside the castle walls, with the smallest corridors I have seen, this is the place. We had an upgraded room as that was all they had left but it was worth the money, we got a lounge\dressing room\bedroom and masive batroom for £75 B&B. Real ales excellent food , would ave stayed an extra night but they were full

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review ,we believe that the Inn is stunning as well and work hard to maintain this. It is always good value to book at this time of the year in low season as prices are lower .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    271
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
188
679
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good hotel, rooms are excellent, evening meal was good, good service, good staff. Only one problem was finding the hotel and parking, could be better sign posted, i enjoyed my stay and would use again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arturo1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank your for your response .We have indeed tried for better signage in the town , but been refused as we are inside the town walls.Also as we are a grade 2 listed property we do have to be careful on our own signage , but we will look at this again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just arrived home after a lovely stay at the black boy inn. It was a last minute break and only booked it the day before! We booked the four poster room. When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome and showed to our room which was in the annex at the back. Our room was very spacious! Had our own kitchen and dining area, even had our own dishwasher! The bed was very comfy and the bathroom as everwhere else in the room was spotless, and had a lovely deep and wide bath which was great! We had our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel, both was a very high standard and very tasty!

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anybody!! I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
The new rooms at Black Jacks are very spacious and indeed 8 of them have separate kitchen area , this was a new idea for us to try and offer something different.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We planned to go to Caernarfon to research the family tree, so central, with food and parking were priorities. Just inside the town walls means no more than a few minutes walk to most of Caernarfon. We couldn't have picked a better more friendly place to stay.
The Black Boy has over the years been extended into the neighbouring buildings on so there are little short corridors and short flights of stairs, luckily each landing looks different and there are planty of sign posts to the rooms. The menu is universal whether you eat in the bar or restaurant and the food stunning. It will take a while to arrive as it says in the menu, but with the food being cooked fresh for you and is wonderful we tried the haddock to lob scouse (welsh stew) and lasagne and all was wonderful. Cooked using local ingredients with masses of flavour. And the locals eat here, so it can't be bad at all. We found the coachhouse for breakfast very pleasant with the same friendly staff and a lovely bright fresh room, so much nicer than having breakfast in the bar. The staff do think allergies are important be it food or enviromental so whether your allergies are nuts, milk or feathers speak to the staff, they'll do what they can to help you. Really looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I really enjoyed reading your feedback , we continually look at the business and try and improve when we can . The location is one of the best for exploring the town and north wales. It really is different to all other Inns as it is unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a very good inn and restaurant in which to stay whilst visiting N. Wales. Stayed there by accident during a very busy weekend. The city of Caernarfon is very picturesque although without many things to do in the night; however it is only 15 mins from Llanberis and Bangor and abou 25 mins from Conwy. The inn has very good rooms, clean with comfortable bed (we stayed in a double room), nice decoration, a big flat TV and free and fast wifi. The bathroom was clean, although a bit small. The room are located above the pub/restaurant with the same, which seems to be one of the most popular places in the city. The food there is very good and we ate there both nights of the stay after long car trips (and breakfast in the mornings); the restaurant can get busy so ask for a table early (they can call your room when it is ready). Although being above a pub the rooms are quiet and warm, but don't expect a view. Finally there is a private car park. We paid on average £85, which I found slightly expensive and I was a bit disappointed to be offered instant coffee at breakfast.

Getting there: GPS doesn't like Caernarfon very much. Google navigation will get you near the inn but not right outside it. If you have difficulty finding the place, park at the car park nearest to where your GPS shows the destination and walk to the inn. Once you find it you will immediately realise how to drive there (you have to enter the correct gate through the walls).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for feedback , the Black Boy is tucked away behind the town walls which adds to its appeal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay at Black Boy Inn. The pub is wonderful, very characterful with a great atmosphere and very good food. We stayed in Black Jacks at the back of the pub and were amazed by the spacious nature of our accommodation. We even had a kitchen! The breakfast was very good - freshly cooked to order. The only downside was the very weak coffee but that is a small price to pay for staying in such a great place.
The pub is beautifully situated within the city walls and easy walking distance from the castle and other amenities. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments , Black Jacks is a new addition to the Inn this year and has proved to be very popular. Most of the rooms in Black Jacks have a mini kitchen .
The coffee at breakfast is in hand to be changed .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We're a couple of Americans exploring UK and picked this place from what we saw on this site. We highly recommend a stay at The Black Boy Inn. We stayed in the Four-Poster room and it was clean and confortable. The bed was very comfortable and there was a large bath. Everything seemed new and spotless. The biggest surprise was the kitchen! I guess we just didn't noticed it in the literature. But we hardly used it as the Black Boy Pub and Restaurant were wonderful. Our dinner of Welsh local dishes (Snowdonia Ale Beef Pie and Seafood Pie) were wonderful indeed, not to mention so reasonably priced. In fact, we both wanted to eat here on our second night. We were not disappointed. All in all, staff was friendly and the place had great character, was superbly located for shopping a sightseeing, and a memorable stop. We recommend it most highly and suggest you not miss it.

Room Tip: Four-poster room: very comfortable and has a kitchen, too! Be sure to eat in the restaurant at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for comments . All 26 rooms at the Inn are different , no standard rooms here . some do have mini kitchens in Black Jacks , some have beams real ones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
957 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing