We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Y Castell Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
33
24
13
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
24
13
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsate downstairslovely tasty meallovely place to spendnoise cominglasagnalovely pubwelsh rarebitstayed here for one nightplace to staycar parkcastleproximityjones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here on a Monday night and had no problem with noise as pointed out in other reviews, maybe weekends are different. We stayed at the front of the hotel overlooking the square which was fine, there was some noise very early in the morning with the street cleaning, but again it didn't prove a problem for us.

The hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly. The bar prices were quite steep but again all hotels are the same. We didn't eat at the hotel but seen some of the food and it looked very nice and presented well.

Our room was very clean and the bed was lovely very comfy. The room was very large we were told that it was the largest room they have there it was room 2. Shower was fine.

Location was excellent for visiting the castle literally only a few steps away. Great for the town. All in all I cant complain about anything, maybe the option of a breakfast would be an advantage, but wouldn't stop me staying there again if that wasn't to happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The castell is excellently staffed by friendly and helpful people.
It also boasts a busy restaurant/pub with good beer and seemingly good food.

Unfortunately this is also a major drawback as the place is loudly frequented until 2am and so loud that one cannot sleep.
Also, once the bar finally closes, the crowd then proceeds onto the street and stays there loudly commenting on their night (in Welsh infused with English swear words) and breaking glasses and bottles. Unfortunately (again) the room aren't double glazed and the noise permeates even more.

Go there for the meal and the atmosphere, avoid at all costs if you want a decent night sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room, if you really must, as high up in the building as possible as the bar is VERY noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJonesWales, Owner at Y Castell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Y Castell is a listed grade II building, and we are not permitted to install double glazing. We forewarn our guest (on our websites and in advance of arrival by telephone) that Friday and Saturday nights in summer can be noisy at the hotel as our bar, certainly is the busiest in Town. In fact we call incoming guests in advance also to warn them that the premises is very busy. Furthermore out hotel is right on the Town square under the shadows of the Castle, and people are naturally drawn there.

Although everyone is entitled to complain, we do find it somewhat unfair criticism when a person complains when they have twice been warned about the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from one night stay. Overall could no fault it. Yes it was noisy, but forewarned on website and on arrival, so no gripes there. Ate in restaurant - excellent. Only complaint - I searched on several sites, and it was not made clear on any of them that this was a room only booking. Four of us came down to breakfast at 8am for an early start, to be told that cafe across the square would be open soon!!! At £90 per room and a 4 star hotel, this is very overpriced. If I had realized, I would not have booked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netty12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJonesWales, Owner at Y Castell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Glad you enjoyed the stay, however I must correct you that it is clearly stated on our websites, and on agent websites such as laterooms that board is on a room only basis. We cannot be held responsible for customers not doing their research. Similar 4 star accommodation is available in Caernarfon at this time of year at £145 a night with breakfast. We firmly believe we give value for money with superb views of the harbour and the castle which no other premises can offer in Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Y Castell had a fabulous time. On arrival we were made very welcome by management and staff. The room was spacious comfortable and very clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful at all times. We ate in the hotel restaurant where the food and service were 5 star and great value for money. The hotel is in an excellent location for all the local attractions and would highly recommend a visit. We will definitely be visiting again.

Lily and Keith

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ztweddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for a sat night and the hotel its self is in a good location, good views and staff were nice. We were told there may be some noise as the restraunt is below us but the bar was heaving and open until 02:00 so we couldnt sleep. Ended up getting up and going back down to the bar. 6/10 as it's a nice place just lots of noise. Would think twice about staying there again. RJ

Room Tip: Rooms have good views we had sea view to the rear but lots of noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJonesWales, Owner at Y Castell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

The reviewer stayed on the Bank Holiday, and Caernarfon, and especially Y Castell was full of visitors and locals alike. The reviewer was given a choice of room but chose the larger room which is directly above the bar, and was warned about the potential noise, but nonetheless chose this room. In fact we do warn on the website that there is some noise on Saturdays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews