We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totters backpackers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Totters Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at many hostels in my life and in my opinion this the best hostel ever. Comfortable, warm, clean, supportive, friendly, having good amenities, and all for £17 a night. The hostel has easy access to the Wales' premier mountain country side, beaches unspoiled by commercialism, and nearby access to the magnificent Caernafon castle. There are wonderful walks with views of the Menai Straits just outside the door. One can really take in the history and wonder of Caernafon. I have stayed at the hostel many times and never been disappointed. I look forward to staying at Totters and it will always be somewhere I have fond memories of thanks to the hard work of Bob and Henrietta. Two great people.

Room Tip: If your looking for a hostel in North Wales then this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights midweek in early September.

Paid £17 per night including breakfast. Booked by email to the hostel.

An excellent atmospheric location within and almost adjacent to the town wall. Very near to the castle and waterfront and town centre. I did not have a car with me, but there is a large car park very close in front of the castle. There is a very frequent bus service from Bangor Station, and good bus services to Llanberis and South to Pwllheli and elsewhere.

I was in a 4-bed dorm, comprising two single beds and one 2-tier bunk. But it was very much like a room rather than a dorm, with plenty of space, and the bed was comfortable. Most of the rooms seemed to be similar, so you don’t get crowded or cramped dorm’s. There were two lockers in the room, but apparently not in a usable state.

Washing facilities, showers etc, are good, except that water pressure in the shower was low. Overall all aspects of the hostel were in good condition, and kept clean.

There is a small lounge on the ground floor, with TV and comfy chairs; if you sit in the bay window there is a perfect view directly through the town walls out onto the sea with setting sun.

In the basement is the highlight of the hostel, an excavated area reputedly 600 years old with original floor, now used as the kitchen and dining area. A spacious area, with good facilities if you want to self cater. Free tea, coffee available to make yourself. Breakfast is in here; you just help yourself, it is left out the previous evening so you can start early if you need to. A standard basic breakfast of cereals, toast, coffee; as with most hostels I would have preferred more of a selection even if it costs a little more (just my preference).

The owners were friendly and helpful, adding significantly to the appeal of staying here.

There were only a few others there, so the lounge and dining area size may be a problem if busy, although unlikely that everyone would be staying in.

Although this is obviously a hostel, you really have the feel of staying in someone’s home, both for the physical structure and the atmosphere. Definitely a hostel which is more than just a hostel, and a rarity to find a hostel with such appeal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is the best hostel I've stayed in. It's better than most hotels I've stayed in. It's hard to get a great atmosphere but this place has managed it. The rooms are clean and modern .The beds are very comfortable. Great dining room. Good kitchen. Very warm welcome. I don't think I could have asked for anything more but then there was the location. What a place.!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a fantastic stay at Totters over the bank holiday weekend. Really clean, modern and comfy hostel.

The dorm room was very nice, with comfortable bed. Bathroom was modern with hot power showers!

The breakfast (included in the reasonable price!!) was nice with a good range of cereals and preserves for toast. Tea and coffee facilities were available all day.

The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. We arrived very late after getting stuck in traffic and they were still up to show us to our room etc.

Located right in the heart of the walled part of Caernarfon and only a minutes’ walk to shops, pubs and restaurants.

Had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesb730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Totters for 2 nights in July. Our room was clean and nice. The free breakfast was great (cereal, milk, toast, jam, coffee or tea) and they even had a dishwasher. The host was very friendly too and it felt more like staying at a B&B than at a hostel. The location is great as the hostel is situated within the historic town walls.
There is also a very nice living room with TV, books and games!
The only point of criticism would be the bathrooms. There are two showers separated by curtains and you have virtually no real privacy.
On the whole it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were greeted in a very friendly way and the room shown to us, the double en-suite bedroom in the attic, was as big as a small flat and offered real great comfort.
The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious and we had a TV with DVD player as well as our own tea and coffee making facilities which would not have been necessary as the kitchen in the cellar may also be used by the guests.
The breakfast, however, was just toast and marmelade, but a bakery is just around the corner.
The location is ideal. Only one historic town wall building seperates the hostel from the historic promenade.
I will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Totters - Caernarfon

This was a SCUBA diving club stay at Totters Independent Hostel in Caernarfon. Our group are a dive club based in York. Our objective was to dive Dorothea Quarry near Talysarn. We had 2 nights at the hostel in January. However we have been using Totters for many years and the service and standards have always been excellent.

We arrived in the afternoon and access to the hostel is good. Parking is available close by and a short walk from the hostel. As divers we have a lot of extra equipment that we need to move into the hostel rather than leave in the car and the walking distance is short.
On club trips like this folk arrive at different times and we usually use the Anglesey Arms as a meeting point. The Anglesey Arms is a pub a hundred metres away and is very welcoming and has a nice log fire in the winter months.
The rooms are quite spacious and the beds comfortable, with usually plenty of space for storage. The shower facilities are fine.
I have always had a good nights sleep when at Totters but it is a hostel and you only need one snorer to spoil your night but it has never happened to me. Bedding is provided.
Light breakfast of cereal and toast/marmalade is provided. Tea and coffee as required. If you want to cook additional food then the self catering facilities are quite good.
The big lounge has a TV and is comfortable. Totters is very close to all the other town centre ammenities.

Bob and Henryette are excellent and very friendly hosts. In fact on arrival we normally call Bob on his mobile and he appears out of now where to let us in.
Totters is very clean. Very relaxing and fantastic value for money.

Could do with WiFi at some point.

Room Tip: Ask Bob if you have any special requirements. Also if you are in a group check the place over the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,344 reviews
0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totters Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totters Backpackers

Address: 2 High Street | Plas Proth Yr Aur, Caernarfon LL55 1RN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Caernarfon
Price Range: $47 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Totters Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totters Backpackers Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing