We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and linda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“John and linda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

It has Friendly staff who will go the extra mile to help you Clean rooms .powerful shower.fantastic food, fast free wifi they say works in the lobby . But actually seems to work all over the hotel .o got 16m download on my room! a great location. oh and it's pretty cheep to.its defiantly our type of place

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    325
    111
    27
    22
See reviews for
183
384
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Royal Hotel Caernarfon
Old world luxury is what you get at this hotel imposing entrance hall with polished wood panelling, greeted by a smiling receptionist who checks you in quickly and offers you assistance with your luggage.
A spacious lift takes you up to your floor, everywhere is clean and tidy, it was rather a long walk to our room bur when we got there it was spacious with plenty of hanging space and draws something that now seems to be missing in some of the newer hotels.
The room was clean the bed linen spotless and the bathroom in a similar condition with lots of white towels. The only let down in the room was the view the room over looked the car park and the kitchen although there was a glimpse of the sea in the distance; this is not a hotel you should stay in if you want views.
We had a slight problem with the pillows on the first night, very thin and uncomfortable but there was no problem getting them changed the following day by the ever help full staff.
The evening meal was delicious from the set menu well cooked and plentiful and breakfast was the same with a large tasty selection. We found the restaurant staff very help full and obliging we had no problem getting things like special teas and sauces.
The hotel as large comfortable sitting rooms, one with TV and one without. The bar is well stocked and comfortable but the prices were high.
The hotel as a large leisure centre with a 16 meter pool, spa, steam room and sauna as well as a large well equipped gym. There was a slight problem with swimming around tea time as they give lessons to local children , and the pool was a little crowded around that time but it was okay earlier in the day.
Caernarfon is well located for touring around north Wales and the hotel as a large free car park and it is only a short walk to the harbour or the town centre there are also three of the major supermarkets just across the road.
Yes I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had booked Royal Victoria at Llanberis but were shifted here so originally pretty miffed but what a very pleasant surprise. This hotel is a great place,well run with great food.The only issue was the staff understanding exactly what vegetarian meant.Trying to order a cheese salad was probably a language issue.We stayed 3 nights..had live music in the bar on the Sat so all in all we'd definetly stay again..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ghillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Travelling by coach from the Cornwall and Devon we spent three nights in the Celtic Royal Hotel in Caernarfon in North Wales. The hotel was very good and well situated near two supermarkets and not too far from the Castle – although we didn’t get there.
We were given a large room on the third floor with two beds and a good sized bathroom. The weather wasn’t particularly cold but we could have done with a heated towel rail and a little more heating in the room.
The entrance reception area was large and impressive with a central staircase serving all the floors however we preferred to use the lift which was good sized and smooth. It did break down at one point which was inconvenient however the staff were very helpful over this.
The food was well cooked and served both at dinner and breakfast however as a coach party we were seated in a large side room on long tables which suited me fine but a few people might prefer to eat alone.
I would be very happy to return again to Caernarfon and this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at end of January for a walking weekend on a groupon deal £99 D,B&B - however if you check hotel's standard rate it's the same. Either way though a fab deal. Lovely clean, warm inviting hotel. Room exceptionally spacious and comfortable with beverage facilities. We took advantage of the leisure complex - very pleasant - pool on cold side though. What we found strange about this place was all the signs and rules about the place which at times made you feel like naughty school children ! Restaurant evening meal was a lovely affair and my partner declared his steak the best he had had in a very long time - breakfast was lack lustre but we are late risers and often don't get the best out of brekkie. The dining room is delightful but quite formal and dare I say a bit stuffy - staff whilst generally efficient and pleasant seemed scared to death lol. The bar was was lively and we had great fun people watching albeit it shut too early for us.
Canaerfon is a gem of a place where mountains meet coast and I look forward to returning to the area and would not hesitate to stay here again especially if walking as walking routes to snowdon approx 5 miles away. Exceeded expectations - fantastic value.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnetts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed here three times as part of dance weekend. Considering they had to cater for 90 plus people in the ballroom there food and service was excellent. The hotel is spotless and very comfortable with plenty of sitting areas, a nice bar (with good food) and an excellent restaurant. Rooms are nice and as good as most four stars. The staff are very professional and polite.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had 3 days in a Groupon deal Fri - Monday which included bed n breakfast and 1 evening meal. Easy to find on the main road it sticks out like a welcome sore thumb in a twon which is very tired. The hotel staff were excelletn helpful and gracious to every need 10 out of 10 for them. The hotel is has excellent facilities with a large gym, sauna steam room and pool at your disposal.
The rooms are brilliant we got a family room which was big airy and a large bathroom which really suited us.
Plenty to choose from breakfast and evening meal menu plus you can order bar food from the bar area which again has a lovely quite area to relax in.
The hotel has two snug rooms if you want peace and quiet to sit in which are very relaxing and ample car parking.
You can walk into the town and the castle is worth a visit, the sad thing is there is little choice in places to eat. If you don't book early then the restaraunts tend to get busy very quickly and you edn up going back to the hotel. So you have been warned.
Places to visit and worth it are
1) Port Meirion
2) Caernarfon Castle
3) Bedd Gelert
4) Beaumaris (Anglesey)
5) Bodnant Gardens - bit of a distance though
6) Betws y Coed

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter, book early if you want to go into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstu1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing