We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet bar”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked at short notice. Very friendly staff and nice size twin room. Got there very late about 11.30 pm. Wasn't a prob keys where waiting for us at reception. Gasping for a drink after a long drive and was surprised to see the bar closed. In fairness they did open up for us to serve a couple of drinks, but then pulled the shutters down when they served them. Never mind at least they open up for a moment for us. Was up and gone before breakfast was served so can not comment on that. Would probably go back there. Good location.

Room Tip: Tea and coffee always a plus for the early riser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

building looks grim from the outside and the area looks run down but once inside its charming.Staff efficent and friendly. Room was large and very comfortable, cleaning was rreasonable although the shower could have done with a deep clean. View was grim. Biggest problem for me was thje fact like a lot of hotels they take coaches first night there was 2 coach parties in the restuarant the staff did very well but it was very noisey and hectic. Second night used the Bistro thinking I,d miss them but no another coach parties of Americans were in there. Again the staff did their best but were like headless chickens. My meal came but had no condiments and no bread roll and butter I had ordered, so had to wait at the bar to ask for them, steak was supposed to be meduim to well and it nearly walked off the plate it was so rare. They took it back and did me another one and was very apologetic, I did get vinegar no salt or pepper. I did get bread roll no butter and by now felt so sorry for staff did,nt like to ask for anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ninakitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Celtic Royal Hotel. We are glad that you found our Rooms comfortable and facilities satisfactory. It is very important to us that all our customers receive the best service possible and we hope that the Duty Manager rectified the error promptly. Please accept our sincere apologies and our thanks for your constructive criticism, which will assist us in our ongoing training programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Celtic Royal Hotel and can say that it is probably the best UK hotel that we have had the pleasure of staying at. Although old in a most charming way, it is immaculately clean in both the public and private rooms. The staff are all pleasant and very helpful and the food to a very high standard.
I have already submitted a not so favourable review on the Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool. Can I suggest that the management of this hotel visits the Celtic Royal to see how well a hotel in an older building can be maintained and managed.
There is no fee for parking and ample space, our room was more to the US style of large room with en suite bathroom with bath and shower. The public rooms and thoroughfares are all extremely clean and well kept with both stairs and lift to all floors. Dinner was first class as was breakfast. The hotel does cater for the coach trade pandering to the 'grey pound.' But this did not detract from the attention of the staff at meal times. There is entertainment most nights in the comfortable bar area which also incorporates a Bistro with food of the same quality as the dining room. There is a large swimming pool and spa area. If I really have to nit-pick the best I can do is to say that one of the mirrors in the dining room as a little squiffy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Central location in Caernarfon with a very friendly staff and within an easy walk the castle and a variety of popular restaurants such as Ainsworth's and Black Boy Inn. Very appealing lobby with wood paneling and antiques. Our room was quite spacious with both a double bed and a single bed which is typical for their twin rooms. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea in the room. The bath had no shower curtain or grab bar but that may only be noticed by travelers from the US. Although we didn't use it, the spa had a very nice looking pool. There was one small elevator but that was only a problem when a large tour group arrived together. The floor in our room creaked so you may want to be on the top floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twofromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Arrived here on the Welsh Highland Railway, and was surprised that whilst not right in the town centre it was only 5 minutes walk away. The exterior of the hotel looks a bit foreboding however the interior is very pleasant. The staff are excellent with a very friendly warm attitude. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. The food was excellent and it has a well appointed gymnasium, and pool facilities. Overall a very pleasant experience, I certainly would revisit and stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Family birthday visit to Welsh mountains with our three children ages 19, 14, and 4. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very large and very clean, double bed wasnt the biggest and a little soft. Evening meal was excellent very surprised by the quality of our food. We would stay again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyFinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Seven of us stayed for £175 inc. B&B in total. The Receptionist Darren was very helpful both at booking us in, checking us in and returning the items my daughter left behind when we went out to eat. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it available. The swimming pool and spa area is very nice. Good trip and I would return. It's just a stones throw from the town centre and opposite Asda in case you've forgotten any items so in a great location.

Room Tip: If you want a view of some sort you might be limited. We stayed in 225 which is the end of a corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MkUkSheilagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
764 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
448 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: $79 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing