We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice of hotel for a short break”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An excellent couple of days spent at this hotel whilst going to a 60th birthday party and doing at bit of sightseeing in North Wales. The Welsh Highland Railway and the castle are well worth visiting also.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

A four day stay in this well placed and attractive hotel was marred only by the quality of the beds which were very hard. The first night we asked to change the room as the bed was so hard and the room was noisy as it was next to a main road and without double glazing. The staff were very helpful and gave us a quieter room but the bed was still very hard, although we resorted to using a single duvet from one of the beds in the room as a makeshift mattress topper, making it bearable. Since so many of this busy hotel's guests are seniors one wonders how many others shared our discomfort. Apart from that the hotel was good and the evening dinners enjoyable and good value.
The free wifi in all rooms was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights here.
Lovely hotel, entrance is nice, there was a wedding here on Saturday, very elegant.
Check in was quick and easy.
Our room was at the rear and overlooked the other rooms, at 130 a night I expected a better room. The room itself was very small with a ridiculously tiny bathroom. I could not of stayed here any longer but as we were only there for two nights then we put up with it.
The room was clean but had a tiny tv.
The pool and gym are nice.
Bar is ok.
Breakfast was a joke. The hotel has 110 rooms and when we stayed there was a large golf society and coach trip staying, all at breakfast at the same time, I can only describe it as a free for all. Staff could not cope with the numbers. I didn't realise that this expensive hotel has a buffet breakfast, you actually have to leave the restaurant and go into the foyer to grab your hot food and then battle back through the crowds carrying your plate.. Not what I call 4 star.
The next morning was a lot quieter but we had to put up with screaming kids at breakfast.
The hotel is 5 mins walk to the town, a few bars and eateries, nothing special though.
The matress was so hard, neither of us slept well.

We will not be returning..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigbKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Public Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We apologise that you felt your room was not adequate. Had you asked at reception we would have been able to move you to an alternative room that would have more suited your requirements.
In regards to your comments about breakfast then again we apologise that you feel we didn’t meet your standards however we received no other complaints from our breakfast service that morning. We welcome our guests when they come down for breakfast and offer them a proficient service regardless of the time.
I draw to your attention the fact that we are not a 4 star hotel… we are a 3 star hotel that strives to provide excellent levels of service and comfort. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

have just spent 5 days with a party staying at the Royal Celtic Hotel. I have only praise for the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and maintained well each day. The food was excellent, ample, breakfast and a good choice of evening meal. The staff were very helpful and attentive making the stay a pleasant one. One small point is that there are steps going up and down in corridors that need to be signed as they are difficult to see at night..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Hotel has been tastefully restored and features an Art Deco bar, public areas are spacious and very comfortable.
The rooms are modern and nice and clean , the TV is a wall mounted flat screen and is a watchable size from the bed which was very comfortable.
Leisure facilities were excellent fully equipped gym, large swimming pool ,sauna and steam room.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice from the buffet
Plenty free parking.
Only downside is the view from the front facing rooms, which looks onto a Coop or Tesco

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_McGeorge_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After arriving at 2 pm we were told our room wasn't ready for another hour even though check in stated 2pm of which disrupted our plans for the afternoon
The room was fantastic and the pool, sauna and steamroom were what the doctor ordered
Then came the evening meal
The thick veg soup was like dish water
The sea bass was full of bones
The thick cut chips were standard frozen ones
The replacement for the sea bass was braised steak of which you could sole your shoes with and stated it had red onion in with it they weren't present just silver skin onions and was cold
Our waitress Gemma was so apologetic and exstreamly helpful top marks to her
As a catering manager who has 26 years service I kind of know what I'm on about

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Public Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
The day you arrived at the Celtic Royal hotel we were experiencing a very busy Check out / Check in and we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
After speaking with the Manager on duty the night of your stay I can confirm the following in relation to your food.
The soup on the menu was not described as a ‘thick’ soup, purely as ‘Cream of Vegetable’. You mentioned that the Sea Bass was full of bones however in fact it was just 2 pin bones at the tail end of the fish, and I can assure you that the chips are homemade, peeled and cut here definitely not ‘Standard frozen’. The Braised steak that was supplied in place of your Sea Bass is one of our most popular dishes. From the other 100 + guests that dined with us that evening we did not receive a single complaint, only praise.
Again, we apologise that you were dissatisfied with your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

For the 2nd time in a couple of months we have stayed with friends in this hotel. Both times had a lovely time, staff very professional, all meals excellent, very good value for money and very comfortable lounges and lovely pool area. Will return.

Liz

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
764 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
448 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: $79 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing