We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel with attentive staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room was spacious, clean and warm with a large bathroom. Only criticism of room was that tv is quite small for size of room, and the freeview reception was intermittent on our tv. Food was very nice, stayed for dinner on both nights. ( the only criticism was the welsh cheeses, dont bother as it is pathetic) Plenty of staff on duty who were attentive and pleasant. Breakfast was good also. Didn't use the leisure facilities but will try it out if returning to hotel. Friends stated the pool was cold as well as the jacuzzi.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: 118 is a spacious room but has a disappointing view of internal roof area and air conditioning appar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevehed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    319
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
180
379
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband’s birthday (Dinner Bed and Breakfast). On arrival the receptionist did not explain were we ate dinner or were breakfast was served, in fact he said nothing but what our room number was and if I had a credit card.
Once we had determined were dinner was served we booked a table for 8.15pm. On arrival at the restaurant we were seated at a table set for three people, my husband ordered a bottle of wine which we received after our first course and half way through our second!! we were than asked if we would like to order dessert, which we replied "Could we just have a break for a few minutes to allow our meal to settle down", a second waitress then asked us again if we wanted dessert then a third waitress asked the same question 2 minutes later….. To top it up no body then asked us and we did not get a dessert, but the staff had managed to set the tables around us for breakfast!!!
Breakfast the next morning was as equally disorganised, the hot plate was positioned in the foyer of the hotel next to the door that the guest entered to be seated in the restaurant which meant that hot plates, guests and staff used the same door. The tables never got cleared so all our breakfast dishes had formed a nice pile in the centre of the table....
The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable. The shower appeared to have a mind of its own, it wouldn’t turn off…. we reported this to reception and within 5 minutes two waiters came to the room with a towel and turned it off, at a guess this was a regular occurrence so why not get it fixed.
Overall I was so disappointed with the whole experience and it defiantly spoiled the weekend.
I WILL NEVER RETURN……

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Firstly thank you for your feedback. At the Celtic Royal Hotel we continually strive to ensure that our customer care standards are high, and we apologise that on this occasion you feel that we didn’t succeed.
The issue referring to your shower incident was attended to by our Porters who would have taken a towel because your concern was water related. Let us assure you that this is not a regular occurrence and that we have a very high standard of maintenance.
We are certainly looking into the grievance that you had during your meal.
Please let me assure you that your concerns are a one off and as you will see from our excellent reviews not in fact our usual standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

11 of us have just come back from a family week long stay at The Celtic Royal Caernarfon. The food was excellent and service from the staff also of the highest order. The pool and gym were great also. So why didn't it get 5 instead of 4, I hear you ask? The rooms were good, spacious, clean. The only niggle was that the TV's in each room were too small. When in bed it was a struggle to see the picture clearly. They either need larger tv's or to be put on a bracket on the wall nearer to bed. The bed also was a standard double. After years of having a king size it would have been nice to have the option of upgrading to a larger bed, sadly not available. Minor gripes but I would certainly come again and recommend it. The sitting rooms very very comfortable and the whole place had a felling of quality and heritage about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've just spent 2 nights at this hotel on a weekend break. The room was warm, spacious, comfortable & clean, the staff were polite, attentive, very efficient, & with plenty of staff on duty at all times, the service was second to none. The food at breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere with the full works of a typical full English/Welsh, plus fresh fruit aplenty, & a continuous flow of toast & coffee. The restaurant evening meal menu had a good choice, was very reasonable, & was cooked & served to a very high standard. The leisure facilities were top dollar with a lovely pool, steam room & sauna, though a bubbling hot jacuzzi would have been nice: the only thing missing! Location of the hotel is perfectly central for the town centre, minutes from the castle, 15 minutes from Llanberis where the Snowdon Mountain Railway is, with plenty of car parking. Free Wifi is everywhere in the hotel, & the hotel itself is full of character, & atmosphere. we loved the place & shall return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueboySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel and enjoyed our stay. Our room was more spacious than expected, although the bathroom was small. Food in the bar and at breakfast was excellent. Pool and saunas were a treat, however the jacuzzi was a bit too cold according to my wife so we didn't spend as much time in there as we otherwise would have. We felt like we got a good deal by booking in advance and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterfromhorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recent family get-together lunch. Food was adequately cooked, but refinement was lacking bigtime. We were accommodated in a room adjacent to the bar, with the large doors to the bar left wide open so that the noise of the television was intrusive, the bread rolls were definitely "bought in", the butter was in little foil packages, the cups and saucers for post-dinner drinks were already laid on the table ( this is the first time I've ever seen this in a restaurant!), the "selection of Welsh cheeses" comprised of two very mediocre cheeses ( and when we asked what cheeses they actually were, the staff didn't know their actual names, so I personally doubt that they were actually "Welsh cheeses" but I apologise if I am incorrect), one heavily laced with horseradish and the other with chives and were of such poor quality that none of us finished our cheeses, the accompanying biscuits were a selection of Jacobs' biscuits and cream crackers (accompanied again by the butter in catering foil packs), the tea and coffee were served to us from tall aluminium vessels that are used in coffee breaks during corporate functions. The coffee was dire, and we thought tasted like instant coffee ( Our suspicions were confirmed a short while later when we requested a filter coffee but the waitress was apologetic and explained that the hotel did not serve filter coffee). Our experience made us feel as if somehow we had been transported back the 1970s. Please,please,please will the manager of the hotel take note of these observations and make some improvements - the guests of the Celtic Royal Hotel deserve better than this, and small inexpensive changes might lead to a bigger turnover and a more profitable business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your Lunch with us. We apologise that you feel that your lunch was disappointing. You were situated in the private room and not the main restaurant as this what your family group organiser had requested.
Had you mentioned the noise from the TV was of annoyance to you a staff member could have immediately closed the partition doors and turned the TV volume down or even off.
As for your concern over the set-up of the tables, again your group organiser had requested the private room and so the tables were set up accordingly.
Regarding your concern over the cheeses that you were served I can assure you that they were Welsh cheeses from our local suppliers, however if these were not to your satisfaction we find it greatly disappointing that you didn’t notify a member of staff who could have changed them immediately to something more to your liking.
The coffee that you were served was the Douwe Egberts Traditional Blend medium roast coffee that we’ve never before received complaints about. After checking with the Manager on duty that was overseeing your luncheon no one in your party requested a filter coffee, we would have gladly exchanged the Douwe Egberts for some of our Freshly Ground coffee from the Espresso and Cappuccino machine that we have just behind the bar next to where you were seated.

We pride ourselves on our customer service here at the Celtic Royal Hotel and have many happy returning customers. We would have liked for you to have voiced your concerns on the day so that we could have swiftly rectified any dissatisfaction felt.

We thank you for eating at the Celtic Royal Hotel, the comments that you mentioned have been looked into as high standards of customer care are of great importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

First impressions of my room were not good, it was on the small side and the en suite was tiny. Given what I was paying I expected a lot better. Things got worse - the mattress on the bed was so old you could feel every spring, as a result I got very little sleep. I complained the next day and to be fair they moved me to another room giving me a choice of three. The second room was certainly bigger, had an enormous bathroom and the bed was ok.
As for the breakfast, it was a little disappointing. There was a buffet of hot food but the 'continental' option was limited. There was cereal and some tinned fruit with a small selection of meat and cheese. No croissants or pastries and the toast was cold. We ate in the Havana bar one evening and that was quite good, it was hot and good value for money.
I've seen some of the other reviews and can't agree, the hotel was at best average although I would agree that the staff were very helpful. I was there on business so didn't have chance to use the leisure facilities, maybe if I had my rating would be higher.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticism. After looking into your stay with us the Manager on duty has confirmed that you moved following your concerns with your first room. We are glad that we could alleviate this concern whilst you were here.
I would like to point out however that we offer a Freshly made fruit salad daily on our breakfast buffet, and our waitresses would have been more than happy to have supplied you with fresh whole fruit should you have asked.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in the Havana Bar and that you felt our staff were polite and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
20.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing