We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, tiny tv”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The front of the hotel as you approach is quite impressive - if you park round the back however you do wonder if you are staying in student accommodation. The public rooms however are very pleasant, stylish and spacious. I had a very nice large room at the front corner of the hotel, which was very nice although it was hard to watch the TV since it was tiny, high on the wall and a long way from anything to sit on apart from the desk chair. My bathroom was small and a bit chilly as it had single glazing and was rather battered by the prevailing wind.
There is what looks like a very nice pool and spa, although I didn't use them myself. Food was fine although the vegetarian choices were rather limited. Bar prices are rather high.
The staff are generally really very nice indeed - pleasant and helpful.
I'd stay again - except I prefer the Black Boy.

Room Tip: I had room 122 which was large but the bathroom is cold in the winter at least
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights half board, and don't have a single negative comment about it! Location is convenient, room was great, staff were lovely, food was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a lovely hotel, we arrived to a warm welcome and when asked for extra towels they arrived promptly. Nothing was too much trouble, served by smiling polite staff a real credit. The food was presented very well and tasted as good as it looked. The pool area was great for the kids. Our Room was a quad room with plenty of space and very warm which was lovely after a good hike up Snowdon. We will be returning in the summer. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Ggood place this: well maintained with good, if slightly confused decor in the rooms.
Food is great; bar is good. Swimming pool and gym.
Good base for exploring Caernarfon and Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Good value if you stay for a couple of nights on their special deal
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JegeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Well What can I say......We Came here for a long weekend (Valentines) First off we was early (2hr) this was NOT a problem at all. Then When we got to the room champagne on ice was weighting . Room was clean and smart (A bit cold at first but soon warmed up ) Workman in next door room but he stopped at 5ish and not there again in all the time we was there. The swimming pool was just right in temp and very quiet when lessons not been done look out for lesson times this may get in the way if you want to swim but still ok to use jacuzzi and sauna and steam room....Food ......Well that was so nice id go there again just for the food everything in the food department from breakfast to evening meal not a fault in 3 breakfasts and 2 evening meals x 2.... The bar was to quiet for me I like a bit of laughter but the price was ok...On the first night we was there was also a wedding party on and the second night something to do with hounds or something this was not a problem at all to us ALL THE STAFF WAS GREAT From the room cleaner to the checkout nothing was to much. Would I go here a gain yes I would willingly..............

The only thing's id say is the every where is dim lighting no heater in our bathroom (309) and mirror in gents changing room could do with repositioning so not to see in changing room from passage way lol lol

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nev2661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had the hunt ball here again this year, my partner and I booked in to stay the night. Well at a third of the price as the Hilton, probably 4 times better, more comfortable larger rooms, cleaner carpets, and lovely spacious bathrooms I reckon this hotel is a winner. The pool area is lovely and function room just perfect for largish functions, accoustics arent brilliant, but the hotel is great and the food was good, service was excellent. what more could you want from a hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and spacious
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglesey_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just returned from a business trip and stayed at the Celtic Royal for a number of night.

I like this hotel, it is friendly and easy on the eye. Staff are excellent and very helpful. I have three some criticism which need to be addressed.

Firstly, although the revolving door is quaint, it is not easy to navigate with bags. There maybe an accessible entry to the side of the hotel but this is hidden away and staff must be used to seeing guests struggle through this antiquaited entrypoint.

Secondly, the rooms are lovely a big but they a very cold. The radiator is tiny for the size of the room and the bathroom has no heating in it and again in such a large room you feel like you are entering an igloo.

Finally, business clients need internet in our rooms and not free access in the lobby. I suggest a simple investment in wifi around the hotel and charge if you have to but at least give people the choice to stay in their rooms to work in private.

Apart from those little things, think this is a great hotel and worth visiting. The gym and pool are good and room service was quick and tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,308 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: $101 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing