We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great please”
Review of Palas Caffi

Palas Caffi
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a family run friendly cafe serving hot drinks, light snacks and homemade ice cream made daily on the premises by Mr Jones, situated right opposite Caernarfon Castle entrance.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great please”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really nice pannini filling (Mexican chicken) lovely coffee and really friendly with our children. Felt very comfortable and relaxed which is a rare feeling with three children under 5.

Thanks very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    39
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The homemade ice cream itself would be enough for a 5 star rating. A huge range of flavours, very reasonably priced (could even say it was cheap) and generous helpings. It also serves a range of cakes, sandwiches and scones. And the staff is lovely. A great place to stop for a snack being just a few steps opposite the castle.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jasryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were visiting Caernarfon and the surrounding area for a few days and were told one evening as we sat having a beer in the Black Boy Inn with one of the local characters of the town that the Palace Cafe was a good place to have a sit down and have a snack.
The very next day after visiting a few of the shops in the town we decided to take up the advice of the previous night and had a light lunch at the Palace Cafe. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the prices were good as well. I had a panini and the wife had a tuna sandwich with side salad. The panini was to die for and the tuna sandwich was according to the wife the best ever. We had a cappuccino which was 10 out of 10 and wait for it, for dessert we had a cone each of home made ice cream.
All I can say is that we will definitely be calling again and I must congratulate the owner, Phil Jones on his establishment, however I have yet to convince him to show us his ice cream recipe. "Its priceless" that's all he could say. Next time Mr Jones.......................

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpool126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
342 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice lil cafe with good selection”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Visited on a dreary day after visiting the castle. Had a very nice hot chocalte and a lovely piece of cake. Prices are fair and there was plenty of seating when we visited, but if it were to get busy it could become a bit cramped in there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_GR_Blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent homemade ice cream”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Visited Caernarfon over Easter and popped in to this cafe. I've been to many homeade ice cream shop's and this was one of the best. They have some 20 different flavours on offer, and i went for the welsh cider one, gorgeous!! highly recommend, will visit again

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dwpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palas Caffi also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Palas Caffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing