We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all rounder”

Ainsworths Traditional Fish & Chips
Ranked #2 of 108 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Ainsworth's is a family run business and has been established for over 20 years. All of our food is cooked fresh to order so that you the customer can enjoy it a its very best. The fish we use, Cod, Haddock & Plaice all come from well managed and sustainable waters. Our fish is freshly prepared on the premises each and every day. Our Chips. Freshly prepared on the premises each and every day from high grade potatoes. We use a number of different varieties of potatoes throughout the year to help ensure quality and consistency, varieties include Maris Piper. Our Batter. Light, Crisp and dry. Our Mushy Peas, Homemade and Delicious. All the products we cook and serve here at Ainsworth's have been chosen for their high quality and consistency. The oil we use for cooking is 100% vegetable oil, which is filtered and cleaned on a daily basis, this practice helps us to ensure that you the customer receives the finest quality product. Our Staff, as passionate as we are about cooking and serving great food and ensuring you receive excellent customer service.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent all rounder”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

i recently visted this lovely chip shop and ordered haddock and chips was very happy with service food quality was first class fresh chips crispy batter on fish i sat in the window and staff made sure i was involved with comedy banter ended up staying to talk after finshed food will be returning every oppertunity i have :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    82
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went to this chip shop on bank holiday monday at about 8.45pm, ordered fish and chips twice. The assistant wasn't friendly and rather miserable. The chips were rather dry and full of little bits, not a full size chip in sight. Wont be using this chip shop again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best haddock and chips ever! So good we returned the next evening. There is little space to eat in (for 'emergency' only) so be prepared to eat out (overlooking the sea, maybe).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 212Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The fish is cooked to order as you arrive, so you know it will be fresh. The chips were not greasy. Excellent meal, especially when eaten by the harbour on a sunny evening!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty fresh traditional fish n chips...but certainly not a restaurant.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Visited as it is Trip Advisor number 1 restaurant in Caernarvon and wanted some fish n chips. Food fresh and worth waiting for but no haddock available only cod. Staff friendly enough and efficient. But when expecting a restaurant, we found 4 steel chairs by window, no toilet and ate meal from cardboard container. No problem there but when we went to leave we were asked to take our cardboard containers and put them in the public overflowing bin outside where seagulls waited to scavenge. So fine for food but at the end of the day, this is a chippy...nothing more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ainsworths Traditional Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ainsworths Traditional Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing