We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, moderate service.”

Sopna Indian Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, moderate service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was good. Mixed Tandoori grill was the best we have had!!!!. Food was served quite quickly, and there was no waiting. But we had to wait for our desert menu for sometime. It was as if they had forgotten us, once our main meal was finished. Otherwise it was pleasant evening in a quirky restaurant. Staff were generally friendly and courteous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olagu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    22
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

12 of us turned up un-announced and they managed to fit us on a large table in quite a busy restaurant. The restaurant was quite small and all felt a bit cramped, but we were glad to fine somewhere at short notice.

service was a bit slow, but everyone was pleased with the food. It took some encouragement to get more dips for the poppadoms - we had 30 poppadoms, and at first they only brought over a single small tray of dips!

The restaurant could have also done with a few more ceiling lights, with only a few coloured wall LED lights sometimes it was difficult to see what you were eating.

Overall a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baz100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food when it eventually arrived but we were a table of 12. Service was poor in the way that no interaction with us, seemed too busy even though resturant was half full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“"Award winning curry house not on this occasion"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently booked a table here on a weekend visit to Caernarfon, reading the reports we were looking forward to a excellent meal, not to be on this occasion.The restaurant was very busy but the staff seemed unable to cope with the situation ,the service was very slow,you dont mind if the food is superb when it arrives at your table ,but the food was very average ,dumped on your table with little or no presentation .This was not the usual standard of service and food you normally get in goood quality indian restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doddek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal! Very impressed :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having stayed in the area for one night we decided to try out the best welsh curry house 2007 and we loved it! The staff were very good, friendly and attentive.

The food was excellent, it was served quickly even though it was very busy at the time! Couldn't believe how busy it was on a Monday night which is obviously a good indicator of how popular Sopna is!

If I'm in the area again I would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gazwxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Sopna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing