We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STARTED WELL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sopna Indian Restaurant

Sopna Indian Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“STARTED WELL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We came in at about 6.30p.m.The place was starting to get busy.The waiter was very friendly and talked to my 12 yr.old daughter-even remembered her name at the end.The popadums and chutney tray was lovely.The chicken chat-which we shared- was full of tasty spices and was a very decent size.However,the mains were not as good.The chicken was not tender and the chilli massala was a bit tasteless(until you bit into a chilli).Dansak was just okay-nothing special.My daughters bhuna was the tastiest.The mushroom rice wasnt the best Ive tasted.
The ladies toilet could do with a bit of tidying up-peeling wallpaper etc.There was no hot water to wash hands.
If I was to return I would choose 2 starters and maybe a naan bread.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YOLO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    46
    22
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Award winning Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Sopna is an award winning Indian restaurant. Owned and run by Sid it is a trip well worth making. The food is excellent and the welcome warm and inviting. My particular favorite was the chefs mixed kebab, truly delicious. The restaurant is fairly is small so booking is advisable, found on the Llanberis road just outside Caernarfon.
There are also Sopna restaurant's just outside Menai Bridge, and Llangefini both on Anglesea

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The thing that stuck in my mind most about this place is just how cold we were in there. We were sat by the radiator which slightly warm but the whole party was frozen. We waited a long to time for our order to be taken and a long time for it to arrive. The service wasn't amazing but the food was very very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wanted to like this place - as a local I knew it had won some awards. However, the owner was very smug and arrogant - especially toward Tripadvisor. He said he didn't pay any notice to Tripadvisor, so I guess he won't care about this report too! He was smug with his awards too, but the food was average at best. There are honestly far better local Indian places to eat nearby - the Polash in Pwllheli for example show great humility and their food knock spots of this place. Won't be going back for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tywitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Service is very good and with a smile.
The food is very good and the menu choices are extremely wide
Be careful not to over order as we did as the portion sizes are quite generous.
Prices are very reasonable and a take home service of ant leftovers is available on request.
Recommend a visit if in the area and looking for an alternative to bar meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexy0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Sopna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing