We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”

Y Castell Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good quality homemade food served in a relaxed atmosphere. All the staff were friendly and helpful. One member of staff made our two children feel very welcome! Even trying to teach us some Welsh! Would eat at The Castell again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charmj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    70
    22
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop for dinner”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner for a family of 5 and it was great. Service was good, food took a little while to come out but that never bothers me too much as shows its being cooked properly! I had the steak and ale pie which was delicious! Husband had the mackerel which was seasoned really well, children had burgers and they were huge and they ate as much as they could and said they were good. It was quiet and fairly modern for an old looking pub so couldn't really rate much on ambience but the lady serving us was very helpful and even refilled my 4 year olds drink when he knocked it over! Good spot after visiting the castle and worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milburntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good locally sourced pub food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Visited during a deluge. Our checklist: local Welsh ales and decent gastropub food. This was the only placed we found in the five minute vicinity of the Castle that served local ales.
Menu was varied with a number of daily specials with local mussels, meat and cheese. Inside the Castell was pretty pleasant and spacious tables and service was friendly.

We ordered the spare ribs (which were more like pork belly, but pretty delicious) and Menai mussels (yummy - served with a twist of crayfish and samphire instead of the usual white wine cream sauce). Both generous helpings and under £10. Food arrived promptly. The other half enjoyed a Rooster ale from Llanwrst.

Would definitely return for a meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Called today for lunch in this excellent restaurant.Staff very helpful and pleasant.Food arrived promptly and was very good.Would thoroughly recommend

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keijof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A good selection on the menu was topped up with some great sounding specials. Everything was home cooked, the portions were of a good size and very tasty and all at a reasonable price. Our party of eight were so impressed we went back for lunch the following day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Castell Restaurant also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Castell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing