We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, shame about the noise level”

Fu's Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the noise level”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great location and beautifully decorated restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful apart from when we asked where the noise was coming from! Two members of staff didn't know what we were talking about but the third did say that perhaps they had got used to it and now don't notice it all. Apparently the noise is due to the firing up of the wok's and I have to say it did annoy us. However, I have to say the food was so good that we would still recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fcroton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    105
    52
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“get proper staff.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

at 10.15,on our main course,the staff,all youngsters,stared brushing the floor,and moving the chairs and tables making it impossible to have a conversation.the cook sat in the bar with his supper chatting to the proprioter,and the blonde cashier was not bothered about the situation,as if just wanting to close and go home.we left at 10.35 no dessert or coffee,a very unwelcoming place.staff should go on a catering course to see how its really done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gavin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A need to get the basics right....the food !!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We dined here on a busy Saturday evening and was initially impressed with the stylish décor and furnishings. The staff were prompt in taking our food and drinks orders and despite being very busy were attentive during our meal. When our food was served it was on very good quality tableware. However, this is all well and good but pointless if you cannot deliver equally good standard food. The yuk shung was poor, too many whole cashews, our duck undercooked and very fatty, the chicken overcooked and dry, the beef was just chewy.
We pointed this out and received a reduction in our bill but we would rather have paid in full and received what we expected, good edible food.
This is a very good example of a restaurant succeeding in getting the look right but taking their eye off the most important element....the food !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Contemporary Cantonese dinning”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here in a one off visit to Caernarfon beautiful location next to quay side we had the banquet for 2 very tasty just the right size portions would recommend service great

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Netty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special but fine”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Trendy clean place. Portions sizes were below average but tasted good. Front of house lady was very friendly. Food needs updating. Same type of food from 20 years ago.... come on please put some trendier things on the menu. But overall good

Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fu's Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Fu's Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing