We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly magical - one of the UK's best attractions of this nature”
Review of Gypsy Wood Park

Gypsy Wood Park
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Gypsy Wood Park is a magical day out for visitors of all ages. There are loads of things to see and do. Bring your wellies to explore the wetlands, meet all the different animals who live here, find the fairies, make a wish, hop on Woody’s train and enjoy one of our fabulous adventure play areas; just some of the events and attractions available at Gypsy Wood Park. We have an onsite Cafe and Shop but you are welcome to bring your own picnic. Gypsy Wood Park is also available for private hire, school groups and parties. Please note that in inclement weather we may close early, or in severe conditions we may remain closed for the day
m
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly magical - one of the UK's best attractions of this nature”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited Gypsy Wood for the 5th time last week. Never, ever disappoints me in any way. My girls love this place, and for young girls who believe in fairies it is a truly magical place to visit. The wooded area is truly enchanting, especially if you have a big imagination. The attention to detail is amazing. It is clear that for the owners the place is far more than just a commercial venture, Beautifully clean, and the animals are so well cared for. Their homes are beautiful, and you can tell they are all happy and healthy. Lovely play area, and a separate area for toddler age with Little Tikes cars and slide etc. We spent a whole day there without a problem. Lots of places to explore, and lots of information which makes it educational for little ones aswell. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and we will without a shadow of a doubt visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    77
    17
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty sparse”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We we automatically charged for a child as my wife was carrying a sleeping , barely 2 year-old toddler , their policy is to charge for a toddler( seems a bit unfair with two adults going in - it's not really for our benefit)but less than an older child but we were charged for an older child until we questioned it. between us£17 for an attraction which didn't take an hour to see seems a bit steep.
Inside there were some animals and plastic tractor type bikes for small kids , lots of gnome type garden trinkets but on the whole we felt immediately disappointed with it.Entry fee 'included' a miniature train ride for our little one for which we were given a ticket but this turned out to run once an hour and had nowhere near the capacity needed for the amount of small children present (inadequate to run it once an hour when it's included in the price surely) so the ticket went in the bin as we left , 55 minutes after arriving.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“16 things on the leaflet....”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

1. entrance
2. car park.....you get the idea.
Thankfully we used tesco vouchers to pay. We got there just as it opened at 10.30. We managed to derail the model railway within 5 minutes. There were 2 of us for the chicken feeding using soggy food which our 2.5 year didn't like to hold. We then went to the Elf Railway, which on a Friday before bank holiday weekend in Aug, runs once an hour for 1 ride. There were 3 children on and thankfully our daughter didn't want another go as we'd have to pay extra for that! Yes she did enjoy petting the donkeys and seeing some of the animals and the playground but the whole place isn't that big. We spent 2.5 hours here including eating eating our lunch.
Not worth it for the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phil12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit lots to see”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to visit with children. Best for ages 4 upwards. Lots of animals to see and a large garden railway to watch and even control some of the trains. Entrance includes a ride on a train and their is also a good play area with lots of picnic benches. You could easily spend a half a day exploring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great place for the family! I think the entry price was £22.00 for a family of 4 (don't quote me) and there are loads of things to do and see inside. Our children really liked the Fairy Queen with her fairy dust !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank republicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Wood Park also viewed

 

Been to Gypsy Wood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing