We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location at Victoria Dock, found housekeeping poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice location at Victoria Dock, found housekeeping poor”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We pre booked to stay here and I am glad we did as they were turning people away! The hotel is situated at the Victoria Docks which is a nice location and close to town. Check in was efficient with Kate who throughout our stay was helpful and knowledgeable. Parking is just up the road in the long stay car park, out of the hotel and turn left over the mini roundabout. We were advised to use the pedestrian side gate to the private apartments to access the hotel after parking.
I am disappointed that the housekeeping really let this hotel down, when we arrived we found bits of toilet paper on the bathroom floor, previous guests hairs in the shower, even above the shower head!? the mirrors were smeared, there were stains down the wall under the TV and on the desk unit, the ceiling light nearest the window was full of dead fly's, the edges of the towels were torn and the blue carpet edges were white with dust/fluff where they had not seen a Hoover for a very long time. All unnecessary and would be a reason I wouldn't use Travelodge again.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk into town and you will find Asda and Morrison's supermarkets very close by.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank planegirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    74
    42
    35
See reviews for
159
243
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

New style Travelodge located close to centre of Caernarfon.

Rooms very clean and staff very helpful. As we were staying several nights were given a larger room.

Very handy for access to Caernarfon Castle and the surrounding area including Snowdon and Porthmeiron. Many restaurants in walking distance (used Table Table 3 times) and you can get a good cheap cooked breakfast at the Morrison's Supermarket nearby.

Only minor complaint was the noise from this Morrison's where they had deliveries at 3am every morning accompanied by loud clanging of metal trolleys whilst loading and unloading. Staff very understanding and said we could request a quieter room next time and provided me with some financial compensation in the form of a discount voucher for next booking,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank thegrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent location next to a Harbour. Easy access to the area and the rest of North Wales.Fantastic helpful and happy staff. Service excellent, I asked for a second chair and it was brought immediately.Fantastic beds and bedding. Spotless bathroom with excellent shower. I would fully recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Parked in free car park very near. Cant drop off outside. The Lodge is in very good position and it was very nice inside. The rooms basic as you would expect, but all very clean. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Arrived on Monday, free parking all day at a nearby carpark. Pleasand staff. Booked in very efficiently by Laura, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Great sleep on three nights of our stay in a very comforable king size bed. Hotel in a good location. Great value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent a night here in May this year, and we would recommend this as a budget option. Travelodge rooms are basic by design, here the room was clean and quiet. Although there is no local parking, it is only a short walk to the large free public car park. The staff on duty during our arrival and departure were both very helpful and pleasant. Travelodge has no dining room, but the breakfast at the Yr Harbwr (a Table Table restaurant) was very good, and again the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers, may be worth asking for a room with a bath if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in late May and first impressions were positive. The lack of car parking was a concern when booking but it soon became apparent that it was not a problem and only a short walk away from the hotel through a residents car park. Check in was efficient and the room looked good. The beds were comfortable - sadly the 'style over substance' bedside lights were useless and cut out every time they were knocked which was very frustrating.

Things started to go wrong on the second day. We left early and called back briefly during the morning only to find the room not made up. Coming back later in the day, the room was in the same state and a closer look revealed that the tea and coffee had been topped up but the bed not made, dirty cups left on the side and the bathroom not cleaned.

Not being overly happy, I asked Laura the receptionist to speak to the duty manager only to find that there wasn't one available for some 4 days. I have to say that Laura was brilliant - she took ownership of the issues and offered to sort the problems out herself; I declined this as this was not her responsibility and also declined the offer of free breakfast. I just wanted the shortfalls noted and was not on a quest for a cheap night stay.

So - 101% to Laura for her handling of the issue; 1% to the manager who eventually rang a couple of days later, leaving an unintelligble message and not bothering to try to reach me again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verywellfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,001 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
419 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing