We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big room, friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We actually stayed here 13th April for 3 nights. Room we had was massive (room 1), not all rooms this big I am sure. Family room, spotlessly clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful giving information and also lending cutlery. Parking is a short walk away but not too far. We went to the Black Boy for breakfast a couple of times - great breakfasts. We also ate in the craft shop cafe just round the corner (50 yards max), views over the marina over breakfast. Lovely to be able to stroll across the harbour up to the castle - making it a great location for a family short break.

Room Tip: Room 1 - huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianBandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    205
    81
    42
    35
See reviews for
165
251
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very basic but perfect for what I needed. I was attending a wedding nearby at The Seiont Manor so I couldn't fault the location. The beds are auper comfy! The only criticism I have is a fridge in the room would be really handy. Erica on Reception was LOVELY!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked this hotel for a week long Bank Holiday break. Location was spot on for being near the sea and the castle. Hotel itself is on a residential apartment site (not a problem with neighbours though car access is restricted.) Free car-parking is within 200 yards. There are some good places to eat in the evening nearby (100 yards). The main town and castle area are about 5 -10 minutes walk. Plenty more choices to eat and drink there. Hotel was very clean and very quiet. Room was on small side but perfectly adequate and comfortable for two. Staff were very helpful, especially Laura.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank TootUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

stayed two nights here lovely fault free hotel. clean and good locations with public carpark and supermarkets located nearby plenty of places to go if you fancy a walk from the hotel. staff friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Although there is no onsite parking, cars are allowed in to unload and parking is nearby. . Reception is on floor 1 and there is a lift and stairs to it. This hotel was exceptionally quiet and clean and staff are friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It is conveniently located and there are several places to eat and a Morrisons supermarket within a couple of minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have recently spent 5 nights at this Travelodge. Firstly I found GrumpyOldMan2014's review quite rude about the hotel and the area. I can assure him that the pedestrian area is not surrounded by social housing. One look inside these apartments would assure him of this. They are exceptional and whilst some might be for holiday use what is the problem with that !!!!!!! The "council parking" is excellent and free even for long stay and a matter of minutes from the Travelodge entrance and makes the hotel area traffic free. Admittedly there is no view from the rooms and I am beginning to think he has a problem with people renting out their properties for holiday rentals :-) Our own experience was very good. Having had to cancel a trip abroad we were looking for a break away. The Travelodge offer was really good and great value for money. The reception was friendly and the 3 staff we met were all very helpful and welcoming. We requested a second chair for the room as it was more than an overnight stop. Have always wondered why most hotels only have one chair in their rooms. The second chair made all the difference and filled the gap where a sofa bed had been removed. The bed was the most comfortable I have had in any hotel. Toilet rolls seem to be an issue, you have to ask for a replenishment so would always take a spare just in case. No problem getting one from reception but please there is a toilet roll holder for one and spare but you were never left the spare even when the other was low. Towels too were an issue. On arrival only one bath and hand towel for two people. soon sorted by reception. Following days always had to ask for a hand towel as only bath towels left in room. No problem getting them from reception so why do housekeeping not leave bath and hand towels for their guests. The carpets are deep blue and only appear to get hoovered every other day, very strange. I wonder if these issues keep it at budget price. We would have marked the service as excellent but for these issues. We parked our car up for the whole of our stay. We enjoyed the walks, the harbour, the friendly pubs and eating places. Must mention the local Table Table, Black Boy Inn, Angelsey Arms and Palace Vaults.On a previous visit we also had a meal at Wal. Great family evening in there !!!!!!!! We could easily have stayed longer enjoying the local area.

Room Tip: Whilst I have scored the rooms average this is all that you should expect from a budget hotel. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVETOSUNBATHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is not accessible other than on foot and parking is in a council car park. Finding the hotel is difficult because it is in a pedestrian area surrounded by social housing, holiday rents and grossly over priced restaurants of mediocre quality. Reception is a desk on the first floor not what I would expect from somewhere calling themselves a 'Hotel'. Although very clean and new it did not feel comfortable with the view from my window being an empty block of holiday rentals. If you have to stay at a Travel Lodge don't pay for Wifi when you book because they don't send you the code then you have top phone premium rate number to speak to their WiFi people and takes at least an hour to sort. That costs more than the £3 to pay for it when you log on and use it directly.
Never again and not even if it is a last resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing