We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”

Inigo Jones Slate Works
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inigo Jones Slate Works produces a wide range of products from 500 million year old natural Welsh slate. These products are available at our Showroom, located in Groeslon, North Wales. As well as our Showroom, there is also a popular Workshop audio-tour for all the family to enjoy geological, historical, calligraphy and letter cutting exhibitions, and children can also compete in our quiz to win a slate prize. There is also a Welsh Rock Cafe which offers snacks and drinks to our customers. Come and have a look!
shropshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you are in the area it is well worth a visit and is easy to get to by road. The staff are really friendly in the craft centre and will assit you with your purchases. I think it cost £5 to go in and you get a ipod to give you a audio tour. They give you a block of slate when you go in and at the end you can go to the workshop and use the tools to engrave your slate. We did not go in the cafe so i can not comment on that. An interesting couple of hours

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    21
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Inigo Jones has a good variety of slate and other goods at reasonable prices. The shop has a welcoming atmosphere with a nice cafe in a separate building. Well worth a visit for authentic Welsh products.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikesmith532002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Slate Works”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is very accessible by road (A487) and called there a number of times during our recent holiday. We found the cafe was very clean and had friendly staff and offered good reasonably priced food and liked the way the Craft Centre had most of its items for sale made in Wales. Thoroughly enjoyed the great slate tour - our children really enjoyed using the ipods and earphones, and especially engraving their blocks of slate at the end.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“pleasant suprise”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

we stopped off at inigo jones as we were heading towards porthmadog and the wife fancied a cuppa, what a joy! parking was plentiful, the cafe was clean and staff friendly and helpful.
the wife had a lovely hot coffee and the kids cold drinks, prices were great.
as we had time we popped into the shop and workshop, again the staff were friendly, when i told the young man behind the counter that my grandad used to be a miner, he asked if i would like to have a look around the workshop where they make the slate products, roger(i think his name was) invited george, our eldest, to have a go at cutting some slate which he loved.
as we left we could'nt resist buying some wonderful slate coasters for the house which the young man said had been made at the workshop, again reasonably priced.
would definately visit again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed it. Not sure if there are usually people working in the workshops. We attended on a Bank Holiday weekend and there was just a guy in the shop. We got a great price on admission with online vouchers, otherwise I think it would have been expensive for what it was. You should listen to the earphone commentary to get the best experience. Kids enjoyed engraving the slate and there is a nice shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NunnyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inigo Jones Slate Works also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Inigo Jones Slate Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing