We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tal Menai Guest House
Ranked #13 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My 12 year old Son and I were taking a two night three day road trip to explore Wales and the nearby castles. Our accommodation was perfect. We chose room three, a twin bedded, light and airy room overlooking the Menai Strait, Sylvette and Richard are wonderful hosts and made us very welcome. We wanted for nothing and they gave us some great tips on how to make the most of our brief trip. The breakfast was superb in respect of quality, variation and quantity. We will go back to explore Wales further. Tal Menai provides a great base for lots of activities.

Room Tip: Look at their website and choose. We liked our room. We had carte blanche. No photo - see website...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Tal Menai Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

My Dad and I were having a road trip and Caernarfon was our last stop: Too bad it didn't last longer! Our room was lovely, the breakfast was huge and we also got gorgeous fresh raspberries! They made our breakfast even better! The view was absolutely charming and we did have a very nice stay. We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adèle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed here for four nights over the August bank holiday. Sylvette and Richard were the perfect hosts, attentive without being overbearing, and more than happy to dispense advice on activities in the local area. The guest house is in a great location for exploring both the coast, and to head inland for walking - providing you're travelling by car. The only issue is if you decide, as we did, to walk into town by the road. There's no pavement, and as it's a reasonably busy road it felt very unsafe. There is a cycle path away from the road which Sylvette told us how to find the following day - this was much more pleasant!

The house itself is beautiful; the room we had was big, clean, light and airy with views over the Menai Strait. The breakfasts were also great, with a full cooked Welsh breakfast, fruit, cereal, toast, and home made conserves - the cassis jelly is to die for. My girlfriend actually left a glove in the room, and Sylvette posted it back for us free of charge. Five star service! We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location, the hosts were lovely and we had a spotless room, a cupboard bathroom but it was no problem plenty of room. Our hosts were kind and helpful and we would happily go back for a break again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mush500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

At this lovely turn of the century house, with its well manicured gardens, we were welcomed so graciously by our Host Richard, and Hostess Sylvette. Our room as requested was at the front, overlooking the Menai Straights. It was spacious and comfortable. Despite being on the main road, we were not disturbed by passing traffic. In the evening we had beautiful sunset views. Breakfast was delicious and filling. nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
It is a non-smoking Hotel, which was one of the reasons we chose to stay there.
We would thoroughly recommend staying here. We certainly intend to return in 2012

Merci beaucoup, and ddiolch yn fawr, Sylvette and RIchard.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We agree with the other comments.
The hosts, Sylvette and Richard, are very welcoming.
This beautiful Victorian House is a warm, cosy guest house; good value!
We had a large en suite bedroom, tastefully decorated. The room overlooked the isle of Anglesy.
Breakfast was excellent, with ample choise.
Ample car parking.
The city centre is 2 minute drive from the house.
Caernarfon is an ideal position to visit Snowdonia. We stayed only two days, we wish have prolonged our stay: the guest house was so welcoming and Snowdonia so fascinating!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lov_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a beautifully restored Victorian House set in a large garden with ample parking space well back from the road and our room had a wonderful view overlooking the Isle of Anglesey.

We were made very welcome by Sylvette and Richard and the room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was excellent.

The full Welsh breakfast was delicious and overall this was a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
3.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
2.4 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Menai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Menai Guest House

Address: Bangor Road, Caernarfon, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tal Menai Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing