We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tal Menai Guest House
Ranked #12 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a beautifully restored Victorian House set in a large garden with ample parking space well back from the road and our room had a wonderful view overlooking the Isle of Anglesey.

We were made very welcome by Sylvette and Richard and the room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was excellent.

The full Welsh breakfast was delicious and overall this was a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were just driving in towards Caernafon quite late in the afternoon & decided to stop on the spur of the moment - Very fortunate to come around the corner and see this B&B. Our room overlooked Isle of Anglesey, Just beautiful,.
The bed was excellent, the hostess friendly & helpful, breakfast was yummy and all just a couple of minutes drive from the Castle/City to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for five nights. Everything good quality. Friendly helpful hosts. Lovely garden and plenty of parking space. Good evening meals at Jake's Bistro.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunroIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Tal Menai is a substantial Victorian house, set well back from the busy main Caernarfon to Bangor Road with good views of Anglesey and the Menai Straits. There is adequate off-road parking and a large garden. There are five bedrooms, all en-suite. The house stands on its own and no other facilities are available within reasonable walking distance. The road to nearby Caernarfon is very busy and there is no pavement in parts, so a walk in this direction is not to be encouraged. There is a farmyard some distance to the rear of the house.
No smoking is allowed, and no pets are allowed either, which was a plus for me.
Mrs Sylvette Williams, who runs the B&B with her husband Richard, is a native French speaker, and as well as English, Welsh is also spoken. Several nationalities visited during my two-night stay.
I had a twin room at the rear of the property for single occupation. The large room was clean and bright, with the shower, toilet and a wardrobe being cleverly installed in separate joined cupboards on the far wall. An LCD satellite TV had recently been installed and tea and coffee making facilities were good (further supplies being made available on the landing). Although the main road is very busy I noticed no traffic noise at all, although to be fair my room was to the rear of the building. My room cost £50 per night for single occupation, breakfast included.
Breakfast was good, with a choice of cereals and toast with excellent home-made jam and the full Welsh breakfast available.
Service was attentive and always polite without being overpowering.
The Victorian character of the building has been sensitively kept and it all made for a relaxing and very enjoyable stay in a convenient position on the Menai Straits.
I intend to go back - sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vasco65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Room No. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_K_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylou45, Propriétaire at Tal Menai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valemaxRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylou45, Propriétaire at Tal Menai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: De voorste kamer heeft een prachtig uitzicht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylou45, Propriétaire at Tal Menai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
3.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,058 reviews
2.6 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal Menai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal Menai Guest House

Address: Bangor Road, Caernarfon, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tal Menai Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing