We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would certainly stay again”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Victoria House. We were met by Betty (Jan's mother), who gave showed us to our room, and settled us in. The room was very roomy and comfortable, with every little detail taken care of. There was a mini fridge with fresh milk available to us, the bathroom was well stocked. Breakfast was great and the selection was extensive. We will be telling our friends and family about this little gem, should they be travelling to Northern Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gh170459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 480 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2009

My husband and I were cycling through Wales for 8 days and this was one of two outstanding bed and breakfasts that we stayed in during that time. Jan and her mother Betty are both extremely warm and welcoming people and yet they run a superbly well organised bed and breakfast in which absolutely every detail has been considered. The bedroom was large, light and comfortable with a beautifully refurbished bathroom en suite. So many touches indicated their thoughtfulness towards their guests. For example excellent lighting; a fresh jug of milk in the little fridge in our room and plenty of teabags; two wine glasses and an opener; shampoos etc in the bathroom. At the same time the rooms weren't cluttered; just very attractive and absolutely spotless. The breakfast room was lovely too - again very light and airy with plenty of space between the tables. The food itself was delicious accompanied by freshly brewed coffee and once again Jan and Betty provided all the thoughtful touches which made it an exceptional experience - newspapers to look at if you wanted to and classical music in the background at just the right volume. Jan and Betty clearly work incredibly hard to provide all this and all I can say is that they have achieved something very special indeed with their efforts at Victoria House. Value for money second to none and basically a privilege to stay there.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank SueWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Considering recession, touring round North Wales, thought there would be no problem finding accommodation. Everywhere fully booked, including the usual Premier Inn & Travel Lodge where you are almost guaranteed to get a room! Driving round the guest house areas late in the evening, happened upon this absolute gem! Waited outside in the rain in the car whilst the wife went in to see if they had a vacancy in this 4 star guest house - thank goodness they had a room available ! Given the option of seeing the room first - but just wanted a room! And what a room! Room 3 at the front - larger than our bedroom at home, with huge en-suite including jacuzzi bath! Set in quiet street (bit tight for parking) stones throw from the Castle - Beautiful breakfast and wanted to stay for a second night but unfortunately they were fully booked! Very hospitable and very helpful owner. This is EXACTLY what a guest house should be like and if more were like it, this counrty would have a better tourist industry!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestcountryWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed just the one night in this b&b but that was enough to say that we have discovered one of the best b&bs in the country.
The rooms are fantastic, the service excellent and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopgarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked here on the strength of previous reviews and the web site. Let me emphasise that everything is as stated and more. Jan was helpful before we had even arrived as I neurotically telephoned to ensure my route planning was correct and she gave me better directions than Google maps! The place was spotless and full of designer touches. Bathrobes and slippers, Fridge stocked with drink of choice and a hospitality tray that wouldn't disgrace a 4 star hotel. We stayed in room 3 and the bathroom was huge with a whirlpool bath (and overhead power shower.) beautifully appointed and Candles supplied! Large flatscreen TV with Sky(sportnews inc: very important for my husband and I) Breakfast superb and plentiful. Situated just within the City walls so 2 mins from the castle and the new Victoria Marina. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance (we recommend FU's in the Marina) Jan will advise about parking but we had no trouble. This place was a delight to stay in.It is in a residential street and therefore very quiet. The bed very comfortable and linen spotless. We have stayed in 4 and 5 star Hotels all over the world and whereas they certainly go the extra yard, Jan goes the extra mile!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewirraltwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The great reviews for this B&B are well and truly deserved. Just got back from an excellent weekend there. So where to start. Parking wasn't too bad, it's free parking on the street outside the B&B.The position is perfect, as for all B&B's on this street. Only a very short walk to the castle (and pubs).
We had a very nice and informative welcome. The house and decor are beautiful, the whole place has a great atmosphere. Ours was the downstairs room looking out onto the city walls, Wow what a lovely room. Spotlessly clean, quite roomy and very tastefully decorated. But it's the all the extras that make it somewhere special. Not only do you have a mini-fridge, but it is also supplied with fresh milk and a complimentary beer/wine. All you need is supplied eg:bottle opener/hair dryer etc.
The shower room is top quality too, very clean and excellent shower. The bath towels are huge and feel luxurious. Basically there is nothing cheap about this place. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets crisp and very clean.
Ok, breakfast, again top marks. The attention to detail is superb eg: toothpicks/jams etc. Food excellent, and it seems a larger choice than most B&B's. Service is great, somehow you feel you should be paying a lot more than you are for staying here.
Don't worry if the weather is bad as the rooms are so comfortable it's a pleasure to pass the time in the room. Oh yes, you have a flat screen TV and DVD player too. Only thing we had to do was turn the mini-fridge off at night as it was a little noisy (but would definately rather have the fridge than not).
Would very happily stay here again.
Excellent!
PS: Almost forgot the WiFi internet. Great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This is an amazing B & B, and would be fantastic even at a much higher price. We spent two and a half weeks traveling around the UK, staying at a different B & B or hotel every night. This was one of the best overall experiences -- and that includes the 5 Star Caledonian Hilton in Edinburgh. Jan provided many of the same ammenities, and managed to do them even better. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, and comfortable. The linens were crisp and luxurious. The bathrooms were large and filled with every possible ammenity from a jaccuzzi tub to a shoe shine kit and a bath rooms scale. The hospitality even included an in-room fridge with biscuits, bottled water, a pitcher of fresh orange juice, fresh milk and an assortment of teas and cocoas, a french press for coffee, and even beer. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, and Jan and her mother were incredibly kind and gracious. There honestly wasn't anything we could have wanted to improve the experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boonedoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
615 reviews
0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $105 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing