We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place To Stay”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

A truly great B&B. Everthing you hope for is here - clean, large rooms; lovely newly refurbished bathrooms; great location near the castle, an excellent breakfast from welcoming hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. But also lots of nice touches, small fridges in the rooms with complimentary chilled drinks, decent flat panel TVs, lots of useful knick-knacks in the bathroom, nice decor and comfy beds. All this adds up to an unbeatable B&B offering great value for money. Can't think of a single criticism. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
305
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Having spent many years staying in B&B's up and down the country for business use it is fair to say I have alot of experience in accomodation. On this occasion I was having a night away with my wife and both of us would not hesitate to recommend anyone this B&B, it is by far the best we have ever stayed in and represents excellent value. The room we had was one of the better equiped ones but think they are all pretty similar in style etc. The breakfast was excellent and nothing too much trouble - in a word - Fantastic.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2009
Hello Steve,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at
Victoria House. It's good to hear valuable customer feedback & that we are providing a good experience for our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My husband and I were amazed at the quality of this B&B. Everything the previous 9 members have posted is true. My husband's parent stayed at the same B&B a few years ago and loved it, and so did we. They stayed in the ground floor and found the B&B after they weren't happy with the one they had orginally booked. They plan to stay here again one day.

We had a bit of difficulty finding the b&b using the goodge maps we had printed out - Google is wrong. Ask for directions and it's very easy to find. It's within the city walls. Parking can be found on the street or the surrounding area - Jan can help - we called her on her mobile and she directed us around the place.

We stayed on the top floor, facing the water, room 4. The ceiling just kept going. Heaps of space. We had everything and more. Chocolate, slippers, dressing gown, cold drinks, hot drinks, extra heater, you name it. We didn't hear any street noise, people noise etc.

They are currently upgrading some of the rooms to contain spa baths !!! Although we had a large power shower and it was hot and had great pressure.

Breakfast was delicious and there was lots of it. Service couldn't be topped. For dinner, we found the new Docks establishment contains a number of restaurants. 'Table Table' had a number of specials and had a large range of food. We went there two nights in a row. But there are number of pubs, restaurants, and fast food chains etc within walking distance, depending on what you like.

We've stayed in a lot of B&B's and we have never experienced such quality. We had a lovely stay (3 nights) and wished it had been longer. Thankyou Jan & Jan's Mum, who were both so lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_in_UK_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

What a treasure this wonderful B&B is. It was recommended to me by friends and I'm so glad they did. Jan takes great pride in her business and rightly so. It's spotlessly clean with lovely design touches. It really is a beautiful house. Large comfortable beds, supersoft pillows & duvets and great showers & baths. The breakfast is to die for. If you have the full version with all the trimmings, you won't need to eat until evening!

Caernarfon is a wonderful town and this B&B is a great base to explore the area. It's inside the old town walls and within walking distance of all the amenities there.

I spend most of my life living out of a suitcase and this is THE best B&B ever. Good luck to Jan, she deserves it!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Bravo to Jan and Betty for making our short stay such a memorable one.
The room was spacious spotless superb.
Dressing gowns and slippers in the waredrobe.
Tea coffee & chocolate drinks with not only fresh milk in the fridge wine for me and beer for him it was home from home.
There wasa dvd player and on the top landing a selection of dvd's to choose from.
The bathroom had everything and more that I need not have taken a toiletry bag cause there was even a toothbrush.
The choice of menu for that all important breakfast was fabulous.
WELL DONE and Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoesalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The location, amenities, rooms, breakfasts and service at this bed and breakfast were second to none. As infrequent visitors to the U.K. and first-time visitors to Wales we felt totally welcomed by Jan, who went out of her way to do the extras for us. We always enjoy U.K. B & Bs but this one is exceptional. We would never hesitate to recommend the Victoria House. Indeed, we hope we have another chance to visit soon!

Sheldon and Janice McLeod, Winnipeg, Canada

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegCanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I have been staying at the Victoria House B&B for over 4 years now. In that time i have got to know Jan well. The service is always first class, friendly,and nothing is ever too much trouble.
The rooms are large, with double beds, en-suite facilities,fridges with tea, coffee and alcoholic courtesy drinks. LCD Televisions and all within a stones throw from the town centre.
The cooked breakfast is superb and provided at a time convienient to yourself.
I use the Victoria House for business and also for pleasure breaks with my family - two children.
A fantastic base for viewing the sights and sounds of North Wales.

  • Liked — Quality and friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ianbinnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing