We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class bed and breakfast”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2008

This is one of the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Warm friendly reception on arrival. Very large comfortable bedroom with bathroom larger than some bedrooms we have stayed in.
The extras provided, such as bathrobes, slippers, sky tv, welcome drinks etc etc were absolutely first class, even some top class hotels dont provide as much as this b & b.
Breakfast was cooked fresh, was hot and excellent.
Would most certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Caernarfon and look forward to our next visit, wouldnt stop anywhere else in Caernarfon now.
Congratulations to Jan and her staff for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tomWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Victoria House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2008

This was a real gem of a place. We have stayed in many B&B's in our life but this goes down in history as one of the best! The room we had was massive, with lovely Victorian features (fireplace etc). The bathroom was the size of a large single bedroom! The whole place was in very good decorative order, as well as very clean, and it is obvious that the owner puts in a lot of effort to keep it nice. We loved the breakfast, how often do you get a menu and table service in a B&B!! Here are some examples of what was on offer: Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fruit salad, full english (including vegitarian options), boiled eggs, toast, hot oats with syrup +++. This place had all the little extras that you do not expect from a B&B; wine glasses & bottle opener, complimentary beer and water, freash milk in your own little fridge, complimentary toiletries, DVD's and DVD player. We cannot fault this little place. At £60 per night it is well worth the money and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2008

Would just like to thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Nestled within the historic town walls amongst a handful of B&B's is the Victoria House. We stayed there for an evening during May '08. A truly excellent stay, the room was large, had a number of original Victorian features (fireplace & plaster ceiling moldings). There was real milk in the fridge rather than the horrid plastic containers favoured by chain hotels and the bed was very comfortable. There was a good sized flat screen tv with freeview and a dvd player in the room. It's pretty central for Caernarfon, two minutes to the Castle in one direction and two minutes to the more gi-gi developed harbour in the other. Excellent cooked breakfast, huge choice of food (the menu noted that food was organic and sourced locally where possible). Really excellent find, would stay here without hesitation again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2008

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Victoria House.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
With kind regards, Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mhesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Sebastian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mark00084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $107 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing