We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March, we had the Queen Room with views overlooking the Menai Straits. Everything about the room was immaculate, there was an abundance of tea and coffee choices, including a cafetiere to make your own freshly ground coffee. There was a jug of milk in the fridge, no tiny jiggers that spill everywhere, and two bottles of water. Everything you might need was available to hand toiletry wise and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time. The room was spacious, extremely clean and welcoming, there was a flat screen TV, DVD player and iPod docking station. There was lots of information about the town and surrounding areas, including an excellent DVD on the history of the town. Breakfast was magnificent with a great selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereal, fruit juice to start and an excellent choice of hot food all freshly cooked to order. The dining room was beautifully laid out with an eye for detail, with white linen cloths and napkins and white china, no matter where you looked there was something to add to your comfort. Everyone we met, the owners and staff, were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay and explore the town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 475 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Spent two nights at the Victoria House 12-14th March. Received a warm welcome from Jan on arrival and Jan had left flowers and chocolates in our room. Breakfast was delicious with lovely veggie options for me! Lots of nice touches and Jan herself was incredibly accommodating. This is definitely one the best places I've had the pleasure to visit and I consider myself fairly well travelled.
Thank you Jan and team for making our 'baby moon' in Caernarfon a memorable one, we will be back hopefully one day with our new addition! Kind Regards Nicky and Jamie (Liverpool)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullett78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This lovely B&B offered great service, the owner was very friendly and really offered the personal touch. The rooms were nicely decorated and well equipped and it is situated in a great location, ideal for exploring the town & castle. Breakfast had a great selection and hot breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Would highly recommend and would love to stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Holmlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I don't normally do reviews however this B & B was exceptional and needs recognition.
Set inside the castle walls from beginning to end the service from Jan and staff was exemplary. The whole place felt welcoming from the minute I arrived, the attention to detail was amazing. The room was immaculate and with china (not pot) cups and tea pot, the robes to use and the glass of wine on arrival the little touches were greatly appreciated.
The bed was very comfy and the rooms facilities were great. Breakfast didn't disappoint, great choice in cereal and breads and being able to toast your own was great. The cooked breakfast was lovely. Think if the hotel inspector stayed she would be saying, the price is amazing, and this place deserves 5 stars

Room Tip: I was in a front double and couldn't have had a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyperactive1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A great location, with a fantastic host in Jan. She made us so welcome an we felt very comfortable in her company,she cannot do enough for you. A good choice on the breakfast menu. Our room was immaculate. Wife loved the room as soon as she entered it !!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in that area of Wales. We will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask Jan if the room you like is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgil1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I normally do not give a review of places but this B&B exceeded my expectations. The service and the room amenities are that of a 5 star hotel. Jan is very welcoming and really goes out of her way to be helpful. It was lovely to stay at Victoria House and we look forward to going back.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room with a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abidarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My Mum and I had a lovely stay at Victoria House on Saturday night, thanks to Jan and her team, who were so welcoming; we really felt looked after. Jan kindly took our bags to our room when we initially arrived, as we were running errands for a friend nearby, before returning at around 6:00pm, where we were welcomed with a glass of wine. Jan made sure that we were settled in, and knew where everythng was, and she helpfully recommended places to eat that evening. The house is absolutely beautiful; the bedrooms and the lounge and dining room cannot be faulted. The views over the Menai Straits are stunning, particularly from the Medieval wall at the rear of the house. The beds are large and extremely comfortable, and the rooms have everything you may need for a relaxing stay. The breakfast was cooked to perfection, we had huge pots of fresh coffee and tea, there were quality fruit juices and a good selection of other breakfast items. Like most reviewers, I felt it a shame that we were only staying for one night. Needless to say, we shall definitely return!
Thank you Jan - you are a fantastic hostess. We are already looking forward to our next visit, and we shall recommend Victoria House to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 441rachaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#6 of 21 in Caernarfon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $105 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing