We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best we stayed in”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jan truely goes beyond what is required to make her guests comfortable. Our room was very comfortable with lots of nice touches. If you don't mind climbing the stairs get the room on the top floor that looks out over the castle wall to the sea. The view is amazing! I was in the UK for 20 days and met only 2 superstars of the B&B business and Jan is one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Jan and the team have made every possible effort to make the place and your trip perfect. There are so many touches and attention paid to detail it is unreal. Looking at the reviews this was the only and the obvious place to stay in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Victoria House is in a great location and is absolutely beautiful. The room was enormous, and the king-size bed with memory foam mattress was a real treat! Having a mini-fridge in the room was a nice touch. Jan is super friendly, as is the rest of the staff. And breakfast was delicious!

If there is any negative aspect to staying at the Victoria House it is that other B&B's will pale in comparison! (The next place we stayed in Oxford seemed like a youth hostel than the posh accommodations we had just enjoyed!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

While it is tempting to give the Victoria House one star, just to make this review stand out from the crowd, that would be a lie. This is the best B&B we've ever stayed at, and have stayed here four times since 2006. Jan is a great host, she always has good suggestions for places to eat, and serves an excellent full Welsh breakfast (complete with black pudding if you like) or lighter options including continental or Welsh Rarebit. The location is also quite good for exploring North Wales or visiting the Welsh Highland Railway. One room on the top floor looks out over the Menai Straights towards Anglesey, and the other rooms are a bit bigger and have Jacuzzi tubs. We tried one of the bigger rooms this time but personally I missed the view. I've also never had any trouble finding a parking spot on the street, and there is also public parking nearby.

Room Tip: Please don't ask for the view room as I would like it to be available next time we stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phosfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although we stayed only one night we found that Victoria House had everything you could ever need.
All the little extras that you might find sometimes at other establishments were all on hand. Just the attention to detail and perfect decor made this the most comfortable ever stay. Rooms divine and ours was huge.... Totally spotless, wonderful choices for breakfast... Can't say enough... Congratulations to Beth and Jan.. Sept 2013
Julie and Max from Oz

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie19582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent three nights (15 to 17 Sept) at the Victoria House B&B. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We were given a very friendly welcome by Beth and later on Jan came along to say hello and check that we were happy with everything. (We were)
We couldn't have asked for a better location as the house backs onto the medieval wall of the town and is only a couple of minutes walk from Caernarfon castle.
Our room (# 2) was spotlessly clean and had everything you could ask for along with a very comfortable bed. The view from the window looked out over a courtyard garden and the wall I mentioned earlier. Jan is just having an access stair completed to go up onto the wall which gives a wonderful view over the Menai Straits.
The breakfast was perfect and freshly cooked. Both Jan and Beth were very helpful in suggesting places to go and eat our evening meal and I think they know every free parking space in the whole town.
I would recommend this B&B very strongly to anybody wishing to stay in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have stayed at Victoria House five times in the last 18 months and have sampled every room - they are all superb. The welcome is very friendly, the rooms are spacious and equipped with every convenience, you cannot fail to have a good nights sleep in the king size beds. The breakfast has everything, fresh, full and five star. Nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning in October.

Room Tip: Larger rooms at the front. Room 4 has the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
624 reviews
0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: 13 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: $105 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing