We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a lovely establishment within the walls of the old city. The rooms were beautifully appointed and we were well looked after by Jan.. Breakfast was most enjoyable. We certainly enjoyed our overnight stay and have no hesitation in recommending Victoria House B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
312
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Jan was welcoming and friendly
Great location
Tasty and filling breakfAst with a BIG variety
Clean lovely rooms with great facilities and little extras (toiletries, cake bars, fresh milk, bottled water)
Complimentary glass of wine or beer in lounge during the evening or in the garden
Great location for Snowdon
Fab pub called the black boy inn 2 mins walk
Definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived in Caernarfon weary and looking like tramps after hiking up and down Snowden; by chance we drove up Church Street and stumbled on this beautiful looking B & B, fortunately there was one room left, it was meant to be! Jan made us feel very welcome, the room was amazing as was the breakfast. The whole experience was wonderful. I would like to keep the place a secret just us but that would be just selfish!!! Thanks Christina

Room Tip: Just visit, the Black Boy pub is lovely for food and drinks, it just around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

In a tight backstreet within the walls of Caernarfon Castle you will find this little gem of A B&B. A very well appointed room, with some very nice touches like a slippers & dressing gown, and fresh milk for your coffee/tea. Bed was very comfortable making for a very pleasant stay. Breakfast was great, very decent selection on offer, and best of all the host was wonderful, Jan was so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for me. Would absolutely recommend the Victoria house and will definitely book again if I return to North Wales in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahameHportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria House in late March 2013. As innkeepers ourselves, I am very particular when staying at other B&B's, but this one was spot on. Jan could not do enough for us, providing special gluten free food for me, going out of her way to make some dinner reservations,carrying our way too large luggage up to the third floor and giving up her parking spot so we could park close to the B&B, since parking is tight and hard to find in this old town. The breakfast was filling and delicious and the service was great. The room was very clean (something I insist on) and the bed comfortable. Jan and her daughter were helpful in giving us ideas on what to do and providing us with good information about weather related driving problems (we were there during the "big" snow that they had this year) and possible closures. All in all we had a lovely time in Wales and want to thank Jan for her part. Hope to be back to this beautiful part of the country again some time and see the parts that we had to miss because of the snow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innstitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Because we are basically idiot Yanks who thought we had good senses of direction, we were
essentially driving around in circles and wondering about the Welsh divorce laws, when thankfully we FINALLY found Victoria House, and Jan the Man. She immediately assessed our moods. She MOVED HER CAR FOR US, so we could park right in front of her house on a one way street about as narrow as a dog's whisker. The room was lovely, cosy and just right. Jan helped us schlep my stupidly heavy bags upstairs and without asking brought us glasses of wine.
Jan's helper Betty is lovely as well as. Jan, you have our eternal gratitude and wonderful memories of you and your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraughtfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a short break here and it was great. Jan was very welcoming and friendly, was good at offering advice, where to eat, where to park etc. The rooms are excellent, good facilities, spotlessly clean and a very comfortable bed, had great nights sleep whilst staying here. We were in room 5and the jacuzzi bath was most welcome too.
The food is excellent, well presented, very tasty and plenty of choice. Excellent breakfast !!

We really felt at home at Jans B&B, nothing was too much trouble and we recieved an excellent service and left feeling like friends. Certainly a place we want to return to.

Jan, thankyou so much, you definitely deserve all the praise you receive, can't wait to come back again.

Val and Robert. Blackburn.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a large room at the front of the house, with jacuzzi bath. Room 3 is also at the front wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie23dall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing