We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B & B”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant B & B”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just returned home after a wonderful weekend at Victoria House, what a gem!!! My partner had stayed there while working in Caernarfon and raved about how lovely it was so we decided to go there for a nice valentine break. I have not had much experience of B & B's but this was amazing. We were made very welcome by Jan and nothing was too much trouble for her and her family, the rooms were lovely and clean with a lovely en suite bathroom with jacuzzi bath. I would recommend Victoria House to anyone and would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
305
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2012

What can i say other than outstanding. When it comes to hotels i can be very choosy and very picky. I would not usually go for a B&B but my husband surprised me, so thought i should look appreciative. I work in the hospitality business and 5 star ratings are very very hard to achieve, but Jan and her family put out all the stops to make sure we received nothing less than this. The cleanliness of this b&b is second to none, i could not find a single spec of dust anywhere, which is a first for me. The personal touches and the high spec fixtures and fittings make you feel like you are actually staying in a high end hotel that you would pay through the nose for.....There were bath robes, slippers, a mini fridge, crystal glasses and so much more in the room. When my husband told me what he had paid for the nights stay i was shocked....I would have easily paid alot more. We will definately be returning here in the near future and i would highly recommend Victoria house to anyone who appreciates the hard work that goes into providing an excellent, personal, and clean service to stay here. Thanks Jan xxx

Room Tip: Room 3 spacious, beautiful, and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have always been wary of B and B's but stayed here on the recommendation of my niece. The welcome, service, room, and breakfast were of the highest standards. Victoria House is set in an excellent location and Jan could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Her restaurant recommendations were also excellent. Cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I was really impressed with the friendly welcome. Victoria House is furnished to a much higher standard than you would expect for the price. Comfortable, very clean, well situated. Highly recommended - cheaper and much nicer than the other hotel I used to use in Caernarfon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Penarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed for one night but wished we could be there longer.

The room was fabulous - with everything that you would expect in a 5* hotel never mind a B&B. Real coffee, fresh milk, bath robes & slippers, lotions and potions, free Wifi, really comfortable bed, beautiful furnishings and decor. The breakfast was excellent too. We had smoked salmon & scrambled egg.
Great location, right by the castle, close to pubs & shops

brilliant

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just returned home from a 2 night stay at Victoria House and had a fabulous time. Jan was the perfect host and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our time there. Our room was on the top floor with a sea view and was extremely comfortable, clean and warm - Jan did offer to upgrade us to one of her larger rooms for the second night as it was vacant but we preferred to keep the sea view. There were lots of nice little touches, such as dressing gowns and slippers in the room to make you feel at home. Breakfast was also fantastic - a choice of cereals, fruit, bread, cheese to start followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice, all as much as you wanted. Ideally situated with lots of good pubs/restaurants all within walking distance, as well as the castle and harbour right on your doorstep. Parking on the road can be limited however we parked by the yacht club just at the bottom of the road with no issues. Can't recommend Victoria House highly enough, we will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house are larger and have the added bonus of a whirlpool bath, or you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at the Victoria house whilst I attended a three day New Year course in Bangor at the university. The house is lovely and my room was generous and very comfortable. As it happened, the weather was vile: strong winds and much rain, but this was a very convenient location for nipping out to the pub or to the shops. I appreciated having wi-fi access so I could do a bit of work, and also the very comfortable bed and warm welcome

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing