We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B with nice little added extras”
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B with nice little added extras”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Well I'd read all the comments on the Victoria House B&B before booking and when we arrived, I have to say I wasn't disappointed! We were greeted by Jan and her daughter and taken up to our room (right at the top of the house). The room itself was very cosy and spacious. The bed was soooooo comfortable and the little touches, such as the milk in the fridge, the chocolate bars and toiletries were a lovely addition. We were up there for my birthday and Jan presented me with a bottle of red wine and a card on the table at breakfast the following morning which was a lovely gesture. Breakfast had a great choice of items. My fella had a full welsh and I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast, with a big pot of tea and loads of toast. Once we went out into town (which was right there on the doorstep) and had had tea, we came back and I ran myself a lovely spa bath in our room. It took all my strength to get out and walk to the bed to go to sleep! What a relaxing way to end your day. The night's sleep we both had was out of this world. What I would say, as with the other reviews, is switch off the fridge when you go to sleep. Its quite loud when you are trying to get to sleep. Other than that, it was a perfect stay for a few days. Thanks so much to Jan and her daughter for being so welcoming. Will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylynda2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
305
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We were attending a wedding a couple of miles away from Caernafon and upon our arrival a taxi to the venue was organised for us, for the next morning. Jan and her daughter were very welcoming, helpful and attentive. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a sea view and a good breakfast each morning. Our stay was very relaxing and I would definately stay at Victoria House again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianecarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Arrived on Saturday night after a long journey.Our bedrooms were lovely. They had eveything that you needed.The staff were really nice especially Jan and Betty who made you feel at home.There is a nice lounge for the guests were you can sit and just relax and look out at the pretty walled courtyard. The breakfast was really good. We were all full afterwards. Next time we come to Caernarfon we will definately book again at Victoria House.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Victoria House; we are pleased to hear you
had a relaxing break & enjoyed the new guest lounge & garden. We look forward to being of service again some time in the future.

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Had a bit of a nightmare finding it as sat nav kept trying to send us the wrong way round the one way system but it was worth the wait. We had big room at the back and really liked the proper toiletries, big bag of coffee, jug of milk and jug of orange juice. There was a good choice for breakfast – the Welsh Rarebit which was great. We didn’t really have a chance to explore Caernarfon as we got arrived late, had to leave early and it was raining a lot but it was very central and close to the castle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend in early January. We were greeted with a warm welcome and showen to our room which was on the top floor. It was a large room and had a spa bath (very good after our walk up Mount Snowdon). We couldn't fault the room on cleanliness or comfort. The breafast choice was large and the quality was excellent. The information folder that was in our room was very useful and comprehensive. I thought parking might be an problem as the B&B doesn't have private parking. However Jan provided us with a map of where we could park for free which was very useful and all parking was close by.
All in all we were very impressed and everything we could have wanted and more had been thought of.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim_meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We spent one night here on a quick tour of Northern Wales. This B&B is a couple blocks from the castle and just inside the city walls. Street parking is a bit tight be we got a space quite close. Friendly hosts and good breakfast. Ate very good dinner at Black Boy pub/restaurant a couple blocks away. It was jammed but friendly people made room for us in the pub while we waited for a table in the restaurant, drank our beers, and learned about life in Wales. The castle tour is well worth a couple of hours and the beautiful countryside in Snowdonia is worth a day or more. Check out the slate mining museum.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This B&B is easy to find, within the walls of Caernarfon & very short walk to the sea, shops & pubs/restaurants. Our room was spacious. The bathroom is very modern. I wouldn't be put off by the people who say the bathrooms are small. If you can shower & come out of the bathroom to dress, you'll be fine. Worked out great for this married couple. In fact, it was nice to have the sink out of the WC so I could be doing my makeup, etc. while hubby showered. Breakfast choices were large & unlimited, cooked to order. I highly recommend staying here as it was nice & no surprises!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustSlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Property: Victoria House B&B
Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing