We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break at Caenarfon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short Break at Caenarfon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a family holiday, where we just needed a comfortable and affordable base for visits to tourist attractions in north west Wales, we found this accommodation on the website and everything fitted our wish list, The location was ideal, staff friendly and knowledgeable and all in all - one first class stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travisperkins36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    369
    110
    38
    20
See reviews for
394
412
39
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Second time I've stayed at this hotel (The first time was when they just opened and it was a good room, with a decent view, and very fair for the price).
They have just 'extended' into the shop which used to be on the ground floor under the hotel. I had a room in this new section... as expected it was a good size, well kept and with a comfy bed etc.
Unfortunately my room was right against one of the main walkways through the development where the hotel is situated. I had a stunning view of the Travelodge entrance (also in the complex) compete with smokers standing outside ... I didn't feel confident leaving the window open over night as people were passing by very close to it and could look right in. So it was a rather stuffy summer night... with no air con or fan in the room. The noise of men working just outside started at 8am on the Sunday morning .. making a lie-in impossible.
The staff were very friendly and polite and if I'd managed to get this room in one of the cut price sales you sometimes see, then it would have been fine, but £86 for this room.. was rather high. They STILL haven't got any parking sorted out... so you either pay to use the council car park over the road... or use the free one which is further away at the end of a road and feels very isolated, ill lit and insecure over night.

Room Tip: If it's possible... try and make sure your room in not in the ground floor new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigfootGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by a staff member in training however he could not have been more helpful, he asked about our trip and if we had stayed before. He gave us all the information we needed to ensure we had a good stay.

The location of the hotel was excellent and was in easy walking distance of the town centre and local amenties. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our second stay at this P Inn , great as before and a bargain per booked at £19 . We ate at the Black Boy in town . Great food . We will be back :) we got a room in the new part it was so nice and clean. Nice shops and a morrisons neat to is handy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deerelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Arrived at the Premier Inn for a four night stay.The hotel is now surrounded by blocks of apartments,there are no views of the menai straits from the hotel.The hotels restaurant is across the road in a seperate building but has nice views of the harbour.Our room was clean and large,although during our stay the maid didn't clean the room properly leaving hair in the bath,dirt on the carpet and to our suprise refolding dirty towels we had left in the bath to be changed,just disgusting.Cleaning remained an issue on each day of our stay,the bath and sink area left dirty very disappointing after reading all the great reviews on this site.Breakfast was served in the restaurant across the road,a very short distance away but it still meant going outside in the rain!Service was appaling, continental breakfast was a buffet that was always understocked but the full english had to be ordered and this is where the problems start, on the first day we waited 40 minutes for it to come and then the food was wrong.Day 2 we arrived early to avoid the rush, by this I mean 07.30hrs service was good but I asked for a mushroom omlette and was told i could only have a plain omlette,knowing that mushrooms are on the menu,I asked if i could have mushrooms on the side of the omlette,which was agreeable to the waitress,but why???Day 3 all the cooked food appears deep fried and my sausages were burnt and I'am sure I ordered beans,but where were they? Day 4 glad it was our last breakfast,my beans were missing again!!I think Premier Inn needs to invest in a hot holding portable food trolley this way all those problems with service and ordering hot food would be eradicated and we could all just help ourselves.So why don't you do it????On a positive note staff were helpfull and friendly.But I am confused by Premier Inns inflexibility to solve dining problems,with simple solutions.Disappointed, yes we were.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek12Tonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were let down by the poor cleaner service, and also by the quality of the breakfast. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

A great position by the harbour just 5 mins from centre of old town & the Castle. A great family room on the ground floor - spacious & clean - could fit 5 persons with ease. Free parking 100m away. Great breakfast in the linked restaurant - all you can eat for £9/adult, up to 2 children eat free/adult.

Room Tip: Families ask for the new extension ground floor room - 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location, clean hotel, sadly let down by a shortage of staff hence a two hour wait to be given a room. Also disappointed that the online booking option was not available...an extra £15 required to secure the room! When finally availablle a clean and spacious room was allocated although the grand total of two complimentary tea bags for a family of four was slightly disappointing !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to offer a high standard of quality and service, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is much valued by us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Address: Balaclava Road Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're trekking up Snowdon or yachting down the coast, Premier Inn Hotel Caenarfon Victoria Dock is perfect for the high life around here. We're right on the Marina, and close to the history of Caenarfon and the majesty of Snowdonia too. Put on your walking boots for some serious climbing, or take off your shoes for a paddle at Dinas Dinlle. Stand on platforms waiting for the West Highland Railway, or hotfoot it over to Anglesey. Then turn your feet back to the hotel for some tasty fare at our Table Table restaurant and a great night's sleep. Directions: Follow A55 Holyhead, take J9 (Caernarfon), at roundabout first exit and then continue to follow all signs to Caernarfon. As you enter Caernarfon at roundabout with Morrisons on right, take 1st exit, keep in right hand lane, at next roundabout take 4th exit to mini roundabout, the hotel is in front of you next to Yr Harbur Table Table. Parking is off site. Contact hotel directly for more details Transport and local information: Caernarfon Castle 0.5 mile Snowdonia National Park 12 miles Betws Y Coed and Swallow Falls 23 miles Bangor Train station 10 miles Holyhead Ferry Servies 32 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Caernarfon
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing