We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, gracious hosts”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived here after a long day of traveling and received a warm greeting upon our arrival. They provided a delicious home-baked meal for our group of 38 and allowed us to have access to their amazing coffee machine so that we could enjoy some after-dinner refreshment. They have a pool table and piano just off the kitchen, a full bar (tended by the most excellent Patrick), and a TV lounge with comfortable seating. My roommates and I had a room on the second floor, and we slept very well - minimal road noise and we did not hear other occupants moving about. The beds and bathroom were clean and well-furnished. The next morning's breakfast was fantastic and they sent us on our way with homemade sandwiches made from the previous night's roast turkey dinner. I highly recommend this hotel, not only for its excellent accommodations but for its friendly, hospitable staff. Hats off to them for a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Ask the proprietors for a recommendation depending on your preferences. They're very flexible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're glad to have helped your group have such a memorable stay.in Caernarfon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

A warm welcome greeted us when we arrived. This is a very comfortable family run place. They make you feel very welcome and have lots of facilities that other places don't - Bar, Pool table, TV Lounge. We stayed in room 9 which is at the top of the B&B and faces the main road. It was quiet and virtually zero road noise. The car park had enough spaces and the walk into the town was not very far at all. The cooked breakfast was extra but well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silverstone71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

It's rewarding for us to read such lovely reviews. A lot of effort goes into providing those facilities and service. It's great when they are appreciated in such a manner. Thank you so much and hope we will see you again.
Room 9 incidentally though small is truly beautiful in a full moonlight through the skylight :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

great place to stay, breakfast very tasty and plenty of choice, brilliant coffee machine, just help your self.
Patrick and Rachel and family are wonderfully kind and helpful and run a clean cosy and comfy hotel. we have stayed here recently, and it's the third visit we have enjoyed.
we stayed in the room above the dining room with a view of the sea and the road. we enjoyed sitting watching the sun go down before going into town for supper, plenty of places to eat, spoilt for choice really. the beds are comfortable and big with good bedding, and pillows..Bathroom clean and easy to use. But run the hot tap until the hot water comes through, it does take a while.
I only have a tiny thing to remark on ...they have fixed hairdryers, On the opposite side of the room to the mirrored dressing table.
all in all this is a welcoming and comfortable place to stay and I would highly recommend it. we would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view its lovely to look out and watch the sun go down and the boats go up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobbledegook031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. I think this is the only room where the hair-dryer is on the opposite wall to the dressing table. We will have another look at it when the electrician is available or maybe we can move the dressing table? Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Apart from the old town and one of the best Castles in the UK, Caenarfon (Carnarvon) in Wales does not have a look going for it. We stayed at the Menai Bank for 2 nights before boarding the ferry at Holyhead and heading to Ireland. Like a lot of these style of hotel in the UK it is off the older variety but it has been well maintained and is very clean and is very good value for money. the breakfast is excellent and the bar prices good. It is close to the center of the town, only about 10 minutes walk, and on the flat. The view from our room was wonderful and although we faced the road the noise was minimal and did not disturb us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPaulineFayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We like the fact you mentioned our Bar Prices are good. We try to be competitive. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose the B&B for the view of the water and the bay window in our double room provided exactly that. We knew it was facing a roadway, but if you sit back in the comfortable chairs, you can enjoy the sunset. Patrick is a wonderful host from welcome to departure with a sense of humour that our teenage boys enjoyed. We had a double room in one section for parents and the boys had a twin room in another section, but they would have moved them closer if we had wanted. We walked into town (about 10 minutes stroll) along the waterfront for supper. There is a grocery store just down the street a few steps away. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and generous. Parking was private in the back. The friendly puppy was in the back to visit for those missing their own dog. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks very much for taking time to write a favourable review. Your observations will hopefully tempt others when trying to decide where to stay in this area. Glad "Binker" got a mention..she says "Woof woof" too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for one night as it was conveniently located on the Welsh Coastal Path.
The online booking process was easy.
The hotel owner, Patrick, was welcoming and helpful.
We were shown where the communal kitchen was where you could make your own breakfast. The fridge had individual room baskets in so you can keep your own purchased items in. There is ironing equipment in the communal kitchen for guests to use.
The hotel had lovely period features - original staircase & stained glass windows.
We stayed in the attic room which had a great view of the Menai Straits.
Although the decor of the room is dated, it was clean. The bathroom is very clean although the flow from the electric shower isn't great.
Clean white towels are provided plus extra pillows/blankets are in the wardrobe.
There are tea/coffee making facilities, TV, electric fan & hairdryer in the room.
The location is convenient, a short walk away and you are within Caernarfon walls. Morrisons is across the road. And a bus stop is across the road with a frequent bus service to Bangor.

Room Tip: The attic room had a great view but obviously up 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for a great detailed review. It answers many of the questions we regularly get asked and some we sometimes neglect to mention . This should be a useful guide for intending customers..
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business purposes, located within easy reach of local town and supermarkets, accomodation although dated is clean an comfortable and the staff were wonderful and accomodating. My room was a twin and on a slant!! However bed was comfy although the pillows were too hard for my liking, bathroom was basic and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psych2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We like the slant bit !! Regarding pillows..Did you try the wardrobe where there are extra pillows. we try and keep a good mix of pillows in each room to suit all tastes.Tip: Next time check at reception or when booking ask for a soft pillow and we will accommodate you :-) Hope to see you again. PS Ask for a level room if desired :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing