We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Menai Bank Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stupidly booked a place in this town for the wrong month so had to find elsewhere to stay instantly. Luckily we drove into this hotel. The owners were very helpful, even chasing up a Podiatrist for me. The rooms were quite big, very clean and with a few little extras. The breakfast menu was large, and everything was served with a big smile. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Hope you got back safely and that the podiatrist helped with the foot:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
92
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you are looking for The Savoy look elsewhere. If you are looking for comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and a genial host, look no further than the Menai Bank B & B. Parking is compact. Handy for Morrisons and a brisk walk away from the town centre. Very handily placed for Anglesey, and Portmadoc areas.
Thank you Patrick and Rachel for a very enjoyable couple of days.
We will be back

Room Tip: Get on the sea facing 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesingingdecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the review. I like the Room Tip "...Sea facing 2nd.floor. Note ...the sea also faces the ist.Floor and Ground floor!! The whole front overlooks the sea but the views from 2nd. floor are truly wonderful :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
250 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends on a cycling holiday. It is very nice with lovely spacious rooms, clean, good breakfast with a nice little bar serving real ale. It has a good, elevated position overlooking the Menai Straits and a nice little gared in front with seats. There is a busy road and Morrisons between the hotel and the straits but it's not noisy and doesn't really detract from it at all. Very friendly and welcoming staff. They housed our 8 bikes in a secure garage to the rear.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for the review. It was nice you mentioned about the garage for the bikes.
Tip: We also have secure bike racks in the car park with 24hr.CCTV recording.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice welcoming off the owner, explained everything we asked. Very helpful. Very clean, good value, couldn't fault it. Many thanks. Went outside and the owner came out around ten in the evening an asked I we would like cushions for the seats, that's good service that

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for the review. We liked the fact that you mentioned about the cushions...garden seats can be cool!! Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I booked here last minute (literally the night before!) for us and our little girl. Very accommodating and very reasonably priced which included breakfast.
On arrival we were greeted by Patrick who was very pleasant and friendly, very warm welcome. We stayed in room 10 on the top floor at the front of the hotel where we had a beautiful view of the strait and Anglesey. The room was well kept and very clean. The room was also separated almost into two so our daughter practically had a room of her own which was really handy as she wasn't disturbed by us watching tv when she had gone to bed.
Amenities are very close by with a supermarket and petrol station just across the road and the town centre only a short walk away.
Breakfast the next morning was a full English with extra portions available if required, cereal and toast also available, with tea coffee and orange juice. Breakfast was delicious, just enough to set us up for the day and also served with a smile and friendly conversation from Patrick.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel, it's clean, friendly and hugely accommodating, nothing is too much trouble! We will definitely revisit this hotel at some point in the future!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and in particular the detail on Room 10 (Family Room). It's a unique layout! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights in room 22 with great views over the Menai Strait to Anglesey(when it wasn't raining)
Very convenient for the town centre and the castle which are a few minutes walk away.
Huge comfy bed and huge windows.
Breakfast was very good and served promptly with a smile. Great to see black pudding on the menu which was very tasty. Excellent coffee machine with really delicious latte (I had rarely tried coffee but liked theirs)

Room Tip: Room 22. Big windows, huge bed, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We never get tired of the view either...even in the rain. In Winter it has a magic of its own! Thanks for taking time out to review us and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

...rocked up yesterday on spec and found two rooms b&b for £55 each, big beds, sizeable rooms, very friendly staff, particularly Patrick, who I had a fine conversation with at breakfast this morning, very helpful indeed. Breakfast was ok, it's a personal choice I know but I'd like to see back and sausage and black pudding and bread from local butchers and bakers, I know everyone has to turn a profit but I don't eat Morrisons produce at home and I know there's a Morrisons across the road... Wifi pretty good, a must these days, not really sure why there's a £1 charge for the form you have to fill in, I'd suggest absorbing that really...

Great location, 5 minute walk into town, minor grumbles as above but it's a great place to stay and would definitely do so again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your review. For the record the Black Pudding we generally have is a Scottish Style recipe and Bacon and sausages (Butcher from Anglesey)usually come from our local Cash and Carry. Bread is also from a local bakery most mornings but yes we use Morrison's own bakery bread too as it's so convenient. From time to time we can get Clonakilty Black pudding which we think is the best in the world! Thanks for popping in on spec...pop in any time. Tip: If you have a favourite food for Breakfast please feel free to ask when booking or checking in. You never know we may just be able to get it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Property: Menai Bank Hotel
Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing