We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time best food warm friendly staff!!”
Review of The Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boatyard Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time best food warm friendly staff!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in the family room it was lovely and cosy with a warm feeling it also had everything we needed, the food was amazing its great when people use local sourced food and this was just that!! Full of flavour and choice you can't go wrong!! This was the first time for us in wales and I no we will be back very soon thank you for a great time to all the staff and owner at the boatyard x x x x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkm_11, Front Office Manager at The Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay here at the Boatyard inn. We are glad to read that your stay with us was a great stay and your first time in wales was a good stay. Hopefuly we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
20
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here with 3 friends in two twin rooms.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food (both breakfast and evening meals) was very good. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and functional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 32Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkm_11, Front Office Manager at The Boatyard Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Boatyard in.

I am glad to hear that your stay was great. i will have a look to see who the staff were at your time of staff and pass on your comments and also to the morning kitchen staff.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

we held our wedding reception at the Boatyard, for 50 guests. Hayley and her team:- chefs,front of house and bar staff were superbly helpful throughout. The food was of excellent quality and quantity enjoyed by all our guests. The atmosphere created by their unfussy attitude (as we requested it to be) was homely, easy, unhurried but caring. Evening and breakfast meals were of equally excellent order. Nothing was too much trouble for this excellent team. Highly recommended. Thanks again for making our day that extra bit special.
Margaret and Ron.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marg r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. The view was amazing, good beer and the staff were very nice. Good breakfast. My fave part was the food in the evening I would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sealovergaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

There are only 2 good things about this bnb. One is the view and the second is that the breakfast was edible. Kid cycling around the breakfast area was slightly off putting but then I really started to worry when he got hold of a lighter. We were then chased down the road accused of not paying when we already had. So very bad

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovellandudnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The last time I visited The Boatyard I was left disappointed but this stay could not have been more different. Since the new landlady has taken over standards of food, service and ambiance have skyrocketed. I could barely believe that it was the same premises! If pushed, I would admit that the rooms would benefit from being en suite, but other than this minor gripe, I would undoubtedly visit again and recommend to friends and colleagues,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

At the last minute we ended up in Bangor withut pre-booking anywhere... after driving around not finding anywhere we thought we had struck it lucky when these guys had a room available at a very reasonable price. The room was big and a bit shabby and the teabags looked like they had been there for days, but for the price... it was OK.
Trouble started at 3 in the morning... they were having a lock in! When I say lockin, there were a few people at the furthest part of the pub, so to hear the music, they played their 80's pop music on literally full blast. Problem was that the speakers were situated under our room. We couldn't sleep at all but gave them a chance to wind down but eventually I went down to complain as we were climbing Snowdon the next morning... the guy apoligised and turned it down. Half hour later it went straight back up, but it was even louder! I complained again... this time I had to get within a metre of the drunken landlady so she could hear me... it went down but then gradually went right up. I heard Other guests getting out of their rooms too so I'm guessing they were hounded with complaints. Eventually the music stopped and after listening to someone getting lucky on the stairs outside our room... all went quiet, at about 6am.
The breakfast guy was pleasant but said she's pass on our complaint to the land lady. The breakfast although advertising Welsh food should have said purchased from a welsh Aldi's frozen section. Very greasy but the least of our complaints.
If you do end up here... don't do what we did and pay in advance!!s

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.3 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
0.9 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Management Centre
The Management Centre
#1 of 10 in Bangor
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard Inn

Property: The Boatyard Inn
Address: Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since Jan 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Bangor
The Boatyard Inn Bangor, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing