We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous service from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boatyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boatyard Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrendous service from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

There are only 2 good things about this bnb. One is the view and the second is that the breakfast was edible. Kid cycling around the breakfast area was slightly off putting but then I really started to worry when he got hold of a lighter. We were then chased down the road accused of not paying when we already had. So very bad

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovellandudnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    3
    5
    11
See reviews for
20
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

The last time I visited The Boatyard I was left disappointed but this stay could not have been more different. Since the new landlady has taken over standards of food, service and ambiance have skyrocketed. I could barely believe that it was the same premises! If pushed, I would admit that the rooms would benefit from being en suite, but other than this minor gripe, I would undoubtedly visit again and recommend to friends and colleagues,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

At the last minute we ended up in Bangor withut pre-booking anywhere... after driving around not finding anywhere we thought we had struck it lucky when these guys had a room available at a very reasonable price. The room was big and a bit shabby and the teabags looked like they had been there for days, but for the price... it was OK.
Trouble started at 3 in the morning... they were having a lock in! When I say lockin, there were a few people at the furthest part of the pub, so to hear the music, they played their 80's pop music on literally full blast. Problem was that the speakers were situated under our room. We couldn't sleep at all but gave them a chance to wind down but eventually I went down to complain as we were climbing Snowdon the next morning... the guy apoligised and turned it down. Half hour later it went straight back up, but it was even louder! I complained again... this time I had to get within a metre of the drunken landlady so she could hear me... it went down but then gradually went right up. I heard Other guests getting out of their rooms too so I'm guessing they were hounded with complaints. Eventually the music stopped and after listening to someone getting lucky on the stairs outside our room... all went quiet, at about 6am.
The breakfast guy was pleasant but said she's pass on our complaint to the land lady. The breakfast although advertising Welsh food should have said purchased from a welsh Aldi's frozen section. Very greasy but the least of our complaints.
If you do end up here... don't do what we did and pay in advance!!s

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I had stayed here before, in 2007, so when I had to come to Bangor again, the last b&b I wanted to stay, was the Boatyard. No vacancies elsewhere, so I had no choice, & booked in. WHAT A CHANGE!. Haley, the new landlady,makes you so welcome. The place is so different, bar-meals were value for money,breakfast, first class. Would certainly come again. Please remember, b&b, not hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hondavfr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

A real nice place to stay for a stopover and a hearty breakfast with a good choice on evening meals ! All served by friendly staff !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

After 3 days up the read at Eryl Mor I couldn't take it any more and thought I'd try the Boatyard for my eveing meal.
After the excellent Pork loin dinner I was bemoaing to the owner (lovley lady that she is) that I was up the road and how terrible it was. To my great relief The Boatyard had a room available the next day. I booked there and then.
The starters, main meals and desserts are excellent quality and remarkable for the price. I had the spring roll starter, the pork, salmon and tuna main, and the chocolate pudding dessert (3 times!) - all excellent (on par with the Harp at Old Radnor and almost with Felin Fach outside Brecon).
The room was basic but clean and comfortable. There is a shared bathroom, but with only two other rooms to let it wasn't a problem, and I rather a shared clean bathroom than a dirty en-suite.
The breakfast was very, very good too. All staff are friendy. The Pub / Bisto atmosphere is very nice, and if warm enough, it's nice to sit out and look across the Menai and boatyard.
It was nice having been working all day to know I'd be going back to the Boatyard to eat drink and sleep.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTee_Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed last and was very impressed with the food. Basic accomodation but good vLUE 4 MONEY

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJonesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.3 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard Inn

Property: The Boatyard Inn
Address: Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since Jan 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Bangor
The Boatyard Inn Bangor, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing