We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”
Review of Penrhyn Castle

Penrhyn Castle
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 19th-century neo-Norman castle sits between Snowdonia and the Menai Strait. It's crammed with fascinating items, such as a one-ton slate bed made for Queen Victoria, elaborate carvings, plasterwork and mock-Norman furniture. In addition, it has an outstanding collection of paintings.The restored kitchens are a delight and the stable block houses a fascinating industrial railway museum.The 24.3 hectares (60 acres) of grounds include parkland, an exotic tree and shrub collection as well as a Victorian walled garden.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you're not a NT member, it can be a bit on the pricey side, but well worth a visit. The gardens are extensive - you can wander for hours. Well stocked shop and I enjoy visiting the temporary exhibitions of local artists. Haven't been inside the castle since my school days, but will be popping back soon for another look around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJones1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT_R_Williams, General Manager at Penrhyn Castle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thnaks for your review which is much appreciated. We agree that if you've got an hour or more to spare in the Bangor area our grounds alone are well worth a visit, with some of the best views over towards Conwy and the Great Orme.

However, if you've not been to the castle in the recent past, it's also worth a re-visit - we've made many of the rooms more accessible as well as updating much of the items on show. This year we will be opening the Butler's Pantry for the first time - another great room which goes really well with the other rooms in the Victorian kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    206
    60
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another NT gem”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited on the 2012 jubilee weekend when the attraction for children was the teddy bears picnic and Wallace and gromit films being shown in the grounds. Grounds super with excellent children's play park set away and hidden from house. Cafe nice, food and drink a little pricey but nice surroundings to eat in.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT_R_Williams, General Manager at Penrhyn Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm really pleased you had a lovely time with us, and I hope that you'll be able to come back to us some time soon for another event, or just a stroll in the gardens (we will have better weather this year, I'm sure!).

We're working hard on our core menus this year to make sure that our catering offer represents good value for money - your comments on the price are definitely noted - however any profit we make from our tearooom at Pehrnyn goes directly to the care and conservation of the castle, so in the meantime, thank you for that additional help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Gloomy massively constructed one to avoid”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A hideous building, massively constructed by a slate tycoon with no taste but only had business sense . Everything is over sized , except for the small transport museum

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT_R_Williams, General Manager at Penrhyn Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your review, and I'm sorry you found the building gloomy. I suppose beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and the architect who designed the building was very well regarded. We're also really lucky still to have many of the original interiors and furnishings in most rooms; as well as good late Victorian kitchen.

Quite a lot of the visitors are amazed that such a huge and imposing building was only built in the 1800s, and you're right that it was as much about showing off the wealth as anything else.

The castle is also set in the most magnificent coastal North Wales landscape which on a sunny day like today is as far from gloomy as it could be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Must See..”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been to Penrhyn a couple of times and you can really spend a full day exploring everything the castle and estate has to offer. The car park is situated an easy 5 min walk away from the castle and there are a few steep inclines in the gardens and a few stairs in the house, but nothing too strenuous. This is a national trust property, so if you are a member like me, then it is a free day out, if not i think the admission is around £10 but it is worth every penny. A s a very imposing Victorian/gothic castle, Penrhyn has many rooms in keeping with the castle's history. Both above and below stairs charts the history of how people used to live in the castle. There is also a tea room, shop and even an engine room to explore. A wonderful way to spend a day, a definite must see attraction in North Wales.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT_R_Williams, General Manager at Penrhyn Castle, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your review, and I'm really pleased you had a lovely time here. It's great to hear that you didn't just get the time to have a look in the castle, but managed to explore the grounds as well - the walled garden is a real delight. Do come back and visit us again this year if you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visit”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

well worth a visit ,full of history ,house well looked after staff friendly and full of information ,grounds are spectacular worth a look .cafe also lovely cream teas worth having

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank elma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT_R_Williams, Manager at Penrhyn Castle, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for posting your review - we really appreciate all the feedback. I hope you are able to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrhyn Castle also viewed

 
Bethesda, Bangor
 

Been to Penrhyn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing