We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Menai Hotel and Bar
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel(Bangor)(Great Value!)
$117
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Liverpool Arms Hotel(Beaumaris)(Great Value!)
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
34
23
14
20
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
23
14
20
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew managementbar downstairsgreat friendly staffpub foodupper bangorsingle bedfamily roomfull english breakfastbed and breakfastexcellent value for moneyvisiting bangornorth walesdeclanmenaiuniversityfetastrait
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 124 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This must be one of the worst hotels i have stayed in, reception was okay, the rooms were terrible, holes in walls, the springs were nearly through the mattress, carpet grotty, en suite was a joke, the door consisted of two bits of wood hanging in mid air, so no privacy, no extractor system, no bed side lights,just a grotty looking bowl fixed to the ceiling and one wall light. Breakfast was,not good, breakfast consisted of some containers of cereal,some bread, some croisants under a dirty plastic lid, a hot water urn, fill your cup with water and add your coffee from a packet, best of all was notices which told you to make sure you cleaned your table, i have never stayed in a council b&b but this certainly looked and felt like one, deffo one to miss.

Room Tip: The best room would be at another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arturo1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here last Saturday, as we came up to see our boys who are both at Bangor Uni. The hotel location was great. We we shown our room (8), which was clean and we'll equipped.The bathroom was a little tired and the towel holder had broken and one side removed. The bed was not at all comfortable, as I had a metal spring sticking in me for most of the night and the creaking noises were terrible. Next morning we went down for breakfast to find that the white bread had mold on it, which put me off everything else. Coffee was nice. We stayed for one night so it wasn't a problem. Looks like the premier inn next time.

Room Tip: Don't use the fist bed in room 8
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Menai calls itself a hotel, but it is more like a hostel. I stayed here for 2 nights and will never go back again. There are some good things about this hotel - the location is good for the station, and there is some parking, a TV with good choice of channels and free tea and coffee - but that was as good as it gets.
The room was £90 a night had 3 single beds which creaked every time you moved, there were sweets on the floor from a previous guest as well as old receipts in the drawers. The window in the bedroom would not closed and there is a sign saying not to open the window further because it could fall out!! As a result we were too warm during the day and frozen at night.
There were two members of staff - a woman who was lovely and could not be more helpful and a man who was miserable. They are a family and there are children (or could be just the one) in the building, as we found out at 8am when one was running up and down the corridors as we tried to sleep. You can hear the noise from the pub below from the top floor, so if you want an early night you might want some earplugs. Breakfast was basic - bread for toast, cereal and out-of-date milk and dry pastries.
Worst of all was the night we were locked out. The first day we arrived we had tried to get in touch with staff without success, so had to go to he pub downstairs to be let in, so we weren't hopeful about getting hold of someone. We got back at around 2am and we tried and tried to get the attention of the staff who live in the building - we used the intercom, the main doorbell, the pub doorbell and called the phone number, but nobody came. We tried every half hour until 6am when someone, who was in a foul mood, finally let us in. This place calls itself a hotel, and in my mind there should be someone available all night, or at least provide an emergency contact number, even hostels have night staff. The man who came to the door was clearly angry at being woken up and unapologetic that nobody had come to let us in and left us outside for 3 hours in the freezing cold. We saw him the next day and he didn't say anything to us about it.
Another thing that annoyed us - this is a hotel in Wales, but it had England flags on it. There is nothing to make you feel you in Wales, and from experience there are other places nearby which will give you a nice warm Welsh welcome.
I'd say avoid this place and either find a friendly B&B or stick to a chain hotel where you at least get your money's worth,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eirianwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Spent two night were well looked after by the staff it can get a bit noisy some nights with the music and students over all it was good and if you like spicy food try their hottest chilli in Bangor if you can eat it all you can eat anything will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I kinda ignored the other reviews before I booked which is very stupid really. Why should I think it would be different for me?! I'm in room 10 on the top floor for two nights but I think I will check out in the morning.... there is a very very loud punk band playing in the bar downstairs and they will play until 11:30pm. Strike 1. Then the heating doesn't work. Strike 2. Just been to the bathroom, the hairdryer is hanging dangerously off the wall, the pipes rattle and just about been cleaned recently. Third strike. Not cheap either. Shoddy. Big room. Great view. Central location.

Room Tip: Room 10 is huge. Top floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews