We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Golchi

Ty Golchi
Ranked #3 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ty Golchi is a family friendly, independently owned and run cafe, serving a wide range of freshly prepared food. With a large car park, fully disabled access and toilet facilities. We have ample outside seating and a large garden for our patrons to enjoy (weather permitting) A warm Welsh welcome awaits all our customers. As all our staff are fluent english speakers we offer a fully bi-lingual service.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

A close friend and I visited a couple of weeks back for lunch. A very cute and pleasant place with a nice atmosphere. I would say however that the music was far too loud! I had a chicken caesar salad which was mediocre - there was nothing about it that made it particularly special, typically cold chicken with wet leaves (on a very small plate which made it difficult to eat!). Service was awful however, we both finished our lunches, and then we waited! The girls were polishing cutlery, having a gossip, and we waited some more! After about 45 minutes of blatantly having finished our lunches we decided to leave. As a restaurant manager myself I would advise that the staff are taught more about customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Country321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    52
    37
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“£17.95 Tapas For Two - A Bargain.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had Lunch at Ty Golchi today(27 May) We ordered six dishes from the Tapas Menu. The presentation of these dishes was outstanding. They were nestled on a bed of Salad, Fruit(including Kumquats, Pineapple, Strawberries, Kiwi, Melon, Orange slices, Apple slices and Pear slices. The dishes were all excellent. The Homemade Pate was delicious. Nice Ciabatta, generous servings of Dipping Sauces The Service was prompt and friendly. Ty Golchi has a really nice atmosphere and is very welcoming to Families. Car Parking facilities are great. They also have a full Menu of British Food, something for everyone. If you haven't been, give it a try. You will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVELY SALAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We called in about 1.30 for lunch.We were served quickly and our drinks brought to us immediately.The place is modern-red walls and lovely lighting.Our meals arrived.The fajitas were beautiful but what impressed me most was the salad-good fresh ingredients.The fresh pineapple and orange was a nice touch!Next time we go I will definitely choose the salad-or the tapas!!The homemade chips we had to share were lovely but unfortunately we couldnt finish them as we were too full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YOLO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been to Ty Golchi twice now and twice I have not been overly impressed with my food. We arrived when it was very busy. We had sat at our table for 30 mins before anyone came to take our drink order, when we booked the table earlier that morning I asked for a high chair and I was reassured we would have one, when we got to our table there was no high chair there (any parent with a 9 month old active child will appreciate this!) the server wasn't very helpful as I had to go and get one myself when there was one that came available. The food was ok, didn't have the wow factor for me.
The place is nice but I wouldn't rush there anytime soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bmor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eat great food and be served by great staff in a great environment with a warm Welsh welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

On walking in your certainly get a great welcome from the staff. Great smiles and they enjoy people. First time I went it was like visiting old friends. I usually go for breakfasts but all the food is good. You maybe pay a little more than some places, but the ingredients used are not budget ones. Sausage and bacon that tastes as it should and top quality mushrooms and tomatoes. Everything I have ever had has been cooked perfect and served fast and with a smile. The staff being Welsh love kids and it is just the most child friendly place to go. The cafe itself is spotless and well furnished and it is a pleasure to eat there. The family just love the place and the staff love running the place which reflects in the great service. It is owned by top Welsh comedian Tudor Owen who is as nice in real life as on the TV.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank torquil_kiloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty Golchi also viewed

 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ty Golchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing