We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brothers Bangor Trip.”
Review of Eryl Mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eryl Mor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brothers Bangor Trip.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with my brother.Great location with stunning views over the Manaii Straits.Staff very friendly,Breakfast was great,no buffet breakfast here,good old fashioned table service!Walked up the pier every morning.Tea room sells great smelling Scones!

Room Tip: Rm 24 and 25 seafacing rm is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 977billyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    94
    58
    26
    30
See reviews for
76
74
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
172 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went to the Eryl Mor Hotel with trepidation after having read some of the reviews and was pleasantly surprised. My room #10 on the first floor of the main building was recently redecorated and had a sea view. The bathroom was spacious with a walk-in shower and very clean. The only drawback may be seen in that the house has only a narrow staircase and no lift. The staff was very helpful with my luggage, however. In the ground floor bar area there is gratis WLAN connection with the internet.
The restaurant is in the wintergarden with a large choice of dishes. The wine list is adequate. Beers are on tap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genussmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading reviews on this hotel before i was not expecting great things, but my room was newly decorated and was very nice. The bathroom still needed updating but was mainly clean with a little mold. You do get mixed service from the staff but this is really one of those places that you get what you pay for. For food and drink i would defiantly recommend taking a walk about 200 yards down the road to the Boatyard pub.
Overall a basic hotel with fantastic views and mixed staff service but is well positioned and cheap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethB526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here for a night on business. Setting is great and views from room are lovely. Room smelled horribly of damp - owners obviously knew ad there was an airfreshener on the wall. Peeling wallpaper, nylon duvet cover and noisy neighbours. Real pity as could be great.
Very average breakfast and staff disinterested. Ate at the Boatyard pub around the corner - good value food and nice beer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Welcoming, helpful staff throughout our stay.

I had just about managed the first 13 steps (I think), then the receptionist offered to carry my case to the top floor of the annexe (the next 57 steps).
Good practice before climbing mountains!

Our room had just been completely done up, i.e. everything was new, from powerful shower to wall paper, carpet, etc.

We had fantastic breakfasts (great choice and waitress service) with the sun rising over the Menai Straight.

Let's hope one day the stair carpet will be replaced, but frankly, I'd rather have a nice room.

We also ate in the conservatory-restaurant and everything was good, with fresh veg, and nice boiled pots and chips.

If you can't park in front of the hotel, it only costs £1 down the road for up to 24 hours.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to be on a lower floor and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife had previously stayed at his hotel and did warn me not to expect too much. Now, that was an understatement

The location of this hotel is superb, the views across the Menai straight, fantastic.

Once I managed to haul myself up the steep vertical steps, I found our room.
The rooms are spacious, again with superb views but haven't been redecorated since the 1980's. Our room smelt of mould / fags / sewerage and was masked by some strong air freshner which soon wore off. The shower had mould all around the base. The wifi is up and down like a pair of Jordans niknaks and I was running round the room with my iPad above my head like a man possessed. I gave up and had to engage in conversation with my wife instead, which was nice.

The restaurant
Well. We weren't hungry so decided to order a couple of starters and a bowl of chips to keep us going. My wife's ordered king prawns in garlic butter and I ordered mushrooms in garlic and herb butter. Well, my mushrooms arrived and I thought they were just slightly overdone. I then proceeded to try one and it was like chewing on a fag end. They had obviously been cooked previously ( like a few days earlier) and then microwaved again for me! When I complained, the waitress took them back to the kitchen and then informed me that the reason for the strange texture is because they are wild and asked if I would like anything else because they are all like that!
I declined and ate a couple of the chips instead
I have never, not been able to eat a meal before, but those mushrooms were something else. How on earth can you not slice a few mushrooms and fry them in a pan?
The staff were all very nice and tried their best. The one waitress dances to you when she serves you, which made me chuckle
Anyway, I am now off mushrooms for the foreseeable future
Oh yeah, and the prices they charge for their "food" is extortionate. My "mushrooms" were £5.25

Saying that, the breakfast was surprisingly edible

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gt Missenden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thankfully we were only staying one night on part of Three Peaks Challenge and literally just to sleep as we ate out after seeing the review of the hotel food on Tripadvisor. My room was in a separate building which smelt really musty as soon as you walked into the vestibule with big cobwebs everywhere. My room was very dated and cold, the shower was very old and the tray had a few hairs in it, yeuch! When you put on the light the ventilator comes on and when you catch site of it you want to turn the light off, it is thick with dust; other people's dead skin and hair, double yeuch! It was a chilly night and no heating on, ok it was summer but we hadn't had a summer as yet. The bed was very old and you kind of sunk into the springs. Breakfast the next morning was okay and they happily made sandwiches for a friend for his picnic lunch up Snowdon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neese66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eryl Mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eryl Mor Hotel

Property: Eryl Mor Hotel
Address: 2 Upper Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eryl Mor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. With stunning views over the Menai Straits, Bangor Pier and out to Snowdonia the location could not be better. In a elevated position you can enjoy the view from the conservatory restaurant, bar or front facing room. There are 20 double / twin / family rooms, all with private bathroom, free Wi Fi, free car parking (11 spaces). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eryl Mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eryl Mor Bangor
Eryl Mor Hotel Bangor, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing