We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice teashop, don't bother with the food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kyffin

Kyffin
Ranked #12 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice teashop, don't bother with the food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was taken today as we wanted a light lunch. The food on offer was a goats cheese tart, goats cheese pasta bake or parsnip soup. Not overly adventurous.

I ordered the pasta and my friend ordered the soup.
We ordered a chai latte and pot of tea which were both quite nice.

The food however was tragic. The pasta bake was pretty much tasteless and microwaved to a lukewarm temperature. I'm not sure how long it had been sat on the side at room temperature but I wouldn't recommend it. The pasta did come with a range of salads that were ok though.

The parsnip soup was just awful. It was a nasty grey colour and though also microwaved was not very warm. The flavour was one of watery, peppery, swamp with a hint of parsnip. My friend ate about 1/2 out of politeness and left the rest.
It came with the same salads as the pasta and a piece of bread which looked homemade but as I didn't try any, cannot comment.

We paid a total of £18 for the privilege and will never eat there again.

They did however seem to have a nice selection of specialist teas behind the counter so that might be worth another look.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tops812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo p, Owner at Kyffin, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Kyffin. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your food. I prepared your food and served you, and asked you if you enjoyed your food. You said you did.

It would have been very helpful to us if you had passed on an honest reponce. Of course we were aware that you didn't look happy at the time. Naturally in a small cafe we overheard your comments about food, costs etc, etc.

The gentleman who had the pasta ate every crumb on the plate. The pasta was made with feta, cheddar and goats cheese sauce. The soup is very popular in the cafe, I am sorry it wasn't to your friends taste. If either of the meals were not hot enough, you needed only to ask for it to be hotter. The soup is kept in a soup kettle to required temperatures, but it would only have taken me a minute to heat it to your taste. Staff are available and visible and we appreciate doing what we can to make your experience as good as it can be.

Again I am sorry you were disappointed, and more sorry you didn't feel you could ask us to improve your experience by simply reheating your food..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place but not amazing... Better off at blue sky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Popped in for a drink with my girlfriend and spent some time deliberating over what to get. Was waiting to be asked if i was alright so i could enquire about the different coffees but wasn't approached by the lady serving despite being the only people in there. Ended up getting a normal coffee from the board and a hot chocolate. Didn't get food as there were no menus and nothing written on board and the lady working there obviously wasn't bothered about serving us as she was off pottering about doing other things so didn't ask. In the end the drinks were both nice despite the odd tasting milk alternative and the cafe was pretty but service was very poor and wouldn't bother going back. As we were drinking some regular customers came in and received very warm welcomes, lucky them! Most of the other cafes in bangor are better!

Helpful?
Thank luke1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

this place is lovely...the atmosphere is very nice, quiet and genuine. i came sever times with a friend and just had a coffee or a cup of tea, never food. not very cheap but there's a very good choice of chocolates and it looks feels being in a bistró in a French village.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittlePie_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Individual and atmospheric!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Very charming restaurant with a small vegan menu. Lovely location for a coffee and a chat! The building has been lovingly renovated and decorated with finds from around the world. The service is warm and friendly, food is tasty and coffee is great. A little gem, a world away from Starbucks and the like! The interiors shop across the road from the cafe is owned by the same lady and is well worth a nosy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotessdelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for students!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of the best places in the city to sit down, have a vegan dinner, tea and revise in a peaceful environment. As soon as you enter you are immediately welcomed by the staff and can can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere at a table, on the sofa or (On a sunny day) outside at the back of the cafe. With over 30 teas, various chocolates, free newspapers and the opportunity to meet like minded people this is truly a very special place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyffin also viewed

Bangor, Gwynedd
 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to Kyffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing