We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spicy vuNOM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spicy Vujon

Spicy Vujon
Ranked #88 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spicy vuNOM!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

delicious, really well made, fantastic value for money. I always go with my boyfriend and they always greet you like old friends :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEG1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    30
    5
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling - don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Two friends and I visited Spicy Vujon on a recommendation from a student friend (probably says it all).
We didn't book, and although we were seated immediately, we were totally forgotten about. We had to request to order drinks and food, after a 30 minute wait. The head waiter/manager served us and was quite annoyed at having to take an order, so politeness was out of the window.
The drinks arrived relatively quickly, but it was another 45 minutes until the food came... on a filthy trolley that looked like it had never been wiped down. The cutlery was dumped in a pile on a small table in the middle of the room, and we ended up helping ourselves (searching for a clean set).
The food was mediocre but we were very hungry and didn't really care at that point.
Surprisingly, they cleared the table straight away - but then came the next wait... after another 30 minutes, the table behind us got up and demanded their bill in the next 30 seconds or they were walking out of the door. We followed suit but again were forgotten about; one waiter proceeded to clear the table next to us of glasses and didn't have the brains to think and get our bill himself, even when we asked him twice (there were 4 waiters, and no more than 3 tables including ourselves at that time!). We then heard shouting and screaming from the kitchen - what must have been the head waiter shouting at staff as he stated later 'I'm sorry they are lazy, just too slow'.
The only way to get out of the horrid place was by threatening to leave without paying - and then they notice you! We found it amusing at the time, at how horrendous the service was but looking back I wish we'd had signal to check TripAdvisor for a review like this and saved some time and money.

I think any good reviews of this restaurant are from people who drank too many of the free shots at the end of the meal (cheap cherry liqueur- classy). The place obviously caters to the large student population in Bangor, but it's not cheap and cheerful in the slightest. I'm beginning to think it was recommended as a joke...


Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything; especially service.

RUBBISH!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charllw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynsiencyn
1 review
“A restaurant that makes you feel welcome and happy!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Spicy Vujon is one of those restaurants that makes you feel very welcome and happy.
The staff is friendly and looks after you; for example, as I was fairly new to indian food when I went there the first time, a member of staff took the time to lead me through their menu and explain what certain meals were - fantastic!
The food is great and their menu has a wide range of different meals from varying regions and varying from mild to very spicy so there should be something to suit most tastebuds. The prices are kept reasonable so you don't feel guilty eating out even if you are on a low budget.
I also dig their little water display in the middle of the restaurant which makes for a nice atmosphere.
All in all the Spicy Vujon is the go to restaurant for me and my girlfriend. From the first time we were there we got greeted by great service and served great food, definitely a place to where we will always return!

Thank you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greedy outlook...will never go again !”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Me n my friend were in hurry so placed a take-away order and inquired about the time. 'Will take around 10 minutes' came back the reply. 'But if u order this particular item then it shall be 20 minutes'. We immediately requested to remove that item from the order and asked any alternative. As that item was priced highest in that section, so came back the reply, 'the order will take min 20 minutes anyway, so go for it'. Sensing where they were coming from, we insisted on removing that item and replaced it with another one. As the billing guy sensed we were in hurry, so they didn't remove anything instead added another item to the bill. And on top of it they added service charge of £4 without asking and that too for a take away order while we were standing outside. Noticed this when we were out and already paid for the bill (accept it is our fault, and we shud hv checked it before paying but still, Very disappointing, Wont be there again and even food was also OK type. Very greedy outlook.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhjinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“service and satisfaction”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

i did recommend spicy vujon, for its quality service and hope forthwith that it remains of great satisfation to travellers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fidel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Vujon also viewed

 
Bethesda, Bangor
Bethesda, Bangor
 

Been to Spicy Vujon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing