We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to come back”

Greek Taverna Politis
Ranked #93 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

One of the best bars I have been to - loads of character and great atmosphere!! Can't wait to come back in january

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliAli88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good night”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very unusual and quirky place full of knocks and crannies the food is very good the owner didn't get his name but he is a right good character well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hap H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
222 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Ask for George!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had the pleasure of meeting the owner George. This guys knows and does everything from karate to cooking to you name it. He started the restaurant some 100 yrs ago and you can see from the unique style it has evolved over time. The interesting aspect of this place is the layout, it's not here or there but does offer some little alcoves where you can host a private party or function.

After looking at the place I was skeptical about the quality of the food, however I was real surprised when the chef came out to personally take my order. I had the Souvlaki and wasn't disappointed.

All in all this is a student city and naturally caters to students and alike. It's not a high-priced restaurant but it is a nice place if you're new to town as all the customers seem to be very loyal guests and will easily invite you into a conversation if open to chatting. And if they don't, then you can guarantee that George will be around to say hello and make the introductions for you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew_vanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chaotically Creative”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the moment we entered, we were immediately transported into the warmth and character the Greek has to offer.

The layout is so interesting with cosy little nooks we were spoilt for choice.

The food was delicious, beautifully presented by welcoming staff.
This experience left us very eager to return.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisabythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a really good meal here on Saturday Night. Service was attentive, food was very good and house wine was very nice. Just cannot understand why more people do not go in Bangor because as said in previous reviews they are missing a hidden gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrispH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna Politis also viewed

 

Been to Greek Taverna Politis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing