We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek Menu in a Unique covered Courtyard Setting”

Greek Taverna Politis
Ranked #93 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greek Menu in a Unique covered Courtyard Setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This Restaurant had a great quirky covered courtyard flanked by two indoor "Eating Galleries". From the outside you would have no clue of the unique interior.
The food was just about average and the portions a little small.
Everything except the desserts had a generous sprinkling of dried herbs but the swordfish my Wife had was lovely and the Moussaka was fairly good if a little small.
The surrounding were different but a little tired and in need of some TLC.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sc0ttjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Greek food and interesting atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

You walk into the covered courtyard where you can eat or stop at the bar, and around the courtyard are more dining areas. The food was good and the decor in the courtyard held my interest throughout the meal. It felt like you were in an outdoor courtyard, with stone floors and slightly shabby walls. I loved the way it looked. It was quiet in the early evening. Well worth going.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank audhumla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lucky find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

After coming out of a conference lecture that ran till past the time most places were serving food, we came across this restaurant. It was busy, but they still made room for our group of 10--no small feat on the spur of the moment! The food wasn't the best I've ever had or anything, but it was still pretty good, reasonably priced, and didn't take ages, so I'm glad we found it! It's not easy finding a place to feed a large group with different diet needs but they pulled it off!

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We visited just before the Uni year...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We visited just before the Uni year started on a quiet Tuesday night. After initially off-putting service on entrance, the food and subsequent appearance of one of the owners pushed up the quality of our night. Excellent hummus, olives, great dolmades and divine stifado.

The restaurant is truly unique. Many elements of authentic Greek, a real mish-mash of rooms and floors make a really interesting experience.

I imagine the atmosphere when busy is amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imalrightjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Not always good; Interesting venue; worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

I've eat at The Greek Taverna a couple of times. Its an interesting place, as its several buildings around a covered court yard, and different parts act as a bar, restaurant and cafe throughout the day.
I've eaten snack at lunch and dinners in the evening and also just had some drinks in the bar.

For a snack it was fine, and for the bar it was fine, but I found that the Greek items on the menu in the evening are a bit of a let down. I just think that not enough care and attention is put on the food side - with all the fresh local ingredients available in this part of Wales there is a missed opportunity to go one better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna Politis also viewed

 

Been to Greek Taverna Politis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing