We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen food”
Review of The Antelope Inn

The Antelope Inn
Ranked #57 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Frozen food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The chilli I had ordered was still frozen in the middle my son's roast potatoes were cold .. A restaurant that reheats food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheenaparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    119
    73
    49
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“microwave meals”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Haven't been to this place for a few years ,so for a change decided to pop in for a meal.
Offers of 2 meals for £10 pounds seemed quite reasonable, so we decided to place our order for food and drinks, whilst queuing noticed that there was a real shortage off staff and those that were working were rushed off there feet .Food seemed to be coming out of the kitchen quite quickly and all seemed well .however whilst queuing they seemed to be running out or certain items off food even though it was only 17.00 to make matters worse no lemon with are G&Ts surely you cant run out of this I thought, anyway our food came within 20mins it was awful more ding ding than anything no presentation very small portions and will no garnish, unfortunately we will not be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmaenmawr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Haven't been for ages.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nearly went there last bank holiday. Really busy so they must be doing something right. Too cold to sit outside so we went elsewhere. Last time we ate there it was fairly basic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jocarupen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dirty and smelly”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Used to visit every do often for the 2 meals for £10 had kinda forgotten about the place so popped back in, big mistake the place is very dirty from the tables, to the carpet to the menus the toilets were disgusting and smelly and water logged the food was awful and the decor shabby I'm afraid we won't be coming back one to avoid for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Milktrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A big shame!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is situated on the edge of the Menai straits, and in an ideal setting. Been going there for years and have noticed a steady decline. Myself, husband and 2 young children were passing at 8.45 pm on 1st of August and decided to pop in for a meal. A large sign on the wall read 'food served from 12 noon until 10 pm Monday til Saturday'. We sat near a window and picked up the menus. Immediately a member of staff rushed up and said that as the kitchen was closing (it was 8.50 pm) could we be quick and order immediately. We were a bit taken aback, but did what we were told and ordered the food. It arrived within 10 mins, two curries, kids sausage and mash, and kids burger and chips. The food was 'ok', as far as microwave meals go, and as we were hungry, the curries were polished off, kids wasted their meals. The plates were cleared away by 9.25, so I went up to the bar to order 2 chocolate ice creams for the little ones. I was a bit gob smacked to be told that all the pudding utensils had been washed and put away for the evening so deserts not available! This is the height of the summer season, what are they thinking of? They advertise that they are serving til 10 pm and decide to close the kitchens early - just like that? And to add insult to injury - the doors leading in to the toilets are in dire need of a coat of paint! they are dirty, sticky, and there is really no excuse for it! This place could be a real hit if a bit of money was spent upgrading it and if management picked their socks up! We certainly won't be going there again - we felt unwelcome, and that we were a bit of a nuisance for ordering food in the first place! If you DO decide to go there - take my advice and make sure you take plenty of alcohol gel with you - as you are going to need it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Antelope Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Antelope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing