We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

The Garden Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Garden Hotel & Cantonese Restaurant has been welcoming discerning diners to Bangor for 32 years and remains a heavenly haven of culinary excellence.Proprietor Andrew Lui established the Garden Hotel & Cantonese Restaurant in 1981 following a chemical engineering degree and career, and is now a leading authority on Cantonese cooking. Working together with wife and Head Chef, Alice Lui who trained in Hong Kong and China.The restaurant is open seven days a week with a comprehensive a la carte menu from 2.00pm to 09.30pm. “There are three basic principles that I believe are essential for success,” Andrew adds.“The first is good cuisine; the second is good service and thirdly, a good environment.All our dishes are freshly prepared and cooked with the finest ingredients. The Garden Cantonese Restaurant goes a little step further by offering dishes to suit vegans, lacto vegetarians, ovo-lacto vegetarians and customers with nut, dairy or gluten allergies. We also understand the importance of healthy eating and use only the healthiest of oils and lean produce in our cuisine.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The menu was extensive, service very efficient and food was excellent - really enjoyed all of the dishes that we ordered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie_123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    40
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful meal. We live in Beaumaris and was told by friends this was the place to go. Went with my whole family. All 6 of us was amazed. The food quality, service and wine was fantastic. Chef special king prawn delights was mouth watering. 100% returning customer. Thank you everyone at the hotel for making it such a wonderful experience for my mother.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to the year”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Came here for a family new years eve gathering, they were jam packed but the service and food were excellent as usual. Although the staff weren't as attentive as usual, it was understandable as it was heaving. Have been coming for many years and will continue to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank foxy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As my favourite restuarant in Bangor I persuaded my friend in going here for our Christmas meal. Having not been to the Garden Restaurant in a couple of years I was amazed how much it had changed.

Unfortunately, and I hate to say this, but the food was not up to that impressive standard that it used to be. There was no effort in the presentation - I could make a take away look better myself. And the staff were trying to rush us through every course. Whether this was down to the time of year (between Christmas and New Year) I don't know but the food wasn't even that tasty.

That night I came down with food poisoning. Reckon it was the prawn toast. This really is the end of my love for the Garden Restaurant which is a real shame.

I'm still recovering :(

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elin444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hardly any better”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've been here a good few times and have never been disappointed. The service and food is always top class. Nothing else to say.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank YCYMRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Garden Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing