We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Management Centre
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our third stay here in the last few years. Consistently good. It is a lovely 120 year old building that has been completely updated internally. It is: bright, comfortable and spotless as well as having good bedrooms and bathrooms. Facilities are suitable for both leisure and business. It is conveniently located for the university, train station and town with lovely views across the Menai. It is also well positioned for Caernarfon and Anglesey. Our breakfasts were very good and the staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful. It is reasonably priced despite having little competition nearby. Because it is primarily an academic centre, the facilities and atmosphere in the public areas are not the same as in normal tourist hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. We have stayed before and the standard is still excellent. Breakfast v good, in fact much better than on previous times we have stayed. Would fully recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights when our son moved into the Uni and found the overall experience very good.The breakfast was very good and plentiful.The rooms were clean with enough storage space.The staff were pleasant and we will book again when visiting

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldtoooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Beware the Bangor train station has stairs, the taxi ride to the University is 3 pounds.I was met by a lovely young lady who checked me in quickly and booked my dinner reservation.The kind security carried my suitcase down the stairs to room number two. I know in the morning I will have the most magnificent view over the bay. The heated towel rack and the biggest funniest towels just made the welcome complete.
Make sure you try the restaurant on site.It reflects a five star hotel rather than a function centre at a university.Bangor's jewel so savour every minute of the beautiful surrounds and exceptional service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank wajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked 2 double rooms and 1 single room, the staff upgraded the single room to a double so we could have rooms together. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had checked out and nealy home when a member of our party had realised she had left her purse in the room, the staff were very helpful throughout. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean. modern, good facilities and a lovely building (room a little on the small side but good value for money). Stay spoiled by what I consider to be a very rude reception at check-in. As a first-time visitor to England, Scotland and Wales I was curious to learn about the prevalence and status of the Welsh language so I asked the receptionist when checking in. In my opinion, the response I received was sarcastic, condescending and completely inappropriate. I was very upset and it made me want to leave immediately. Had it not been so late in the day, I would have. Also, be aware that this is a university and when we arrived, the first year students were also arriving and they tend to dominate the town centre. Luckily, this did not affect our stay in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here and would thoroughly recommend it. Perhaps more suited to couples rather than families. The room we had was clean and spacious with a roomy ensuite. Everything felt quite modern, though it was in an old building. As others have noted, it can be a bit of a maze as the central stairwells are half a floor off kilter with the main floors in the wings with the bedrooms so you're always going up and down stairs. The main block which also has the restaurant has million dollar views over green grass, stone wall, meadow and trees, to the Menai Strait and Anglesey. Gorgeous! The food is good. Because it's run as a university enterprise everything is low key but great service. It rather felt like being in a private club. Good location for everything in Bangor, a nice walk down to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
8.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Management Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Management Centre

Address: College Road, Bangor LL57 2DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bangor
Price Range: $104 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Management Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management Centre is graded as Visit Wales 4 star Guest Accommodation and offers 57 en-suite guest bedrooms that have achieved the Visit Wales Business Class Gold Standard. Many of the rooms have stunning views of the Menai Strait and Anglesey. Facilities are fully accessible for wheelchair users, please note that due to The Management Centre being a listed building, there is no lift access to the third floor bedrooms.Our range of guest bedrooms include single, twin, double and king executive and all come equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and a dedicated workspace for all your business or study needs. All guest bedrooms are en-suite with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and digital flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Management Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Management Centre Hotel Bangor
The Management Centre Bangor, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing